Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #164

Writing prompts cure writer’s block. Take the 10 random words below and, in the comments, crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story tying them together! And remember: after (if) you finish, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, do those too.)

  1. Pending
  2. Trash
  3. Spam
  4. Approve
  5. Post
  6. Comment
  7. Appearance
  8. Dashboard
  9. Users
  10. Link

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Resources you should check out:
Thesis: Best Damn Theme on the Web
Collective Ink Well: Personalize Your Thesis Theme
Third Tribe Marketing: Marketing done the right way
Story Structure Demystified: Best damn writing book out there

94 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #164”

  1. margaret says:

    Hi Shane, you have pending on there twice…should there be another word?

  2. Shane Arthur says:

    “Hey Billy! I’s so glad we was able to post bail using dat drug study money we done earned from dat pharmaceutical study we done did. Our appearance in front of dat judge, wit us totin’ our piss bottles, musta softened him up to approve a reduction in price.”

    “Yeah, anybody totin’ piss bottles for a drug study just screams charity cases, but your comment ‘bout him lookin’ like Barney Fife almost got us thrown in jail with all the other drug users and motley fools anyway. And all our Spam and mountain-oyster money just got flushed down the trash. Bobby, pending a miracle, we’s gonna have to give plasma to get our beer and laundry money.”

    “You’s right Billy. But we can look back on us drivin’ home after those 10-cent beers and laughs a bit now. You should have seent your buldgin’ eyes when dat 18-wheeler was headin’ right for us on account I forgot what side of the street was ours and I failed my learner’s permit 10 times. Your fingers done dug straight into da dashboard and you turned white as a chalkboard.”

    “Bobby, let’s just hope they don’t link us to da theft and consumption of those experimental medical rabbits stolt from da med school.”

  3. Sure, it would have been all to easy to make this one about WordPress, blogging.  So I stayed away from that topic entirely and wrote a poem about professionalism.
     

    Pending Professionalism


     
    Life at a dashboard
    grading every users appearance
    a pending resume pileup
     
     
    Filtering every spam link
    or trash referral recommendation
    is there anyone left to approve?
     
     
    Those few receiving comment approval
    fail to show up for simple interviews
    like soldiers abandoning their post


     
    Where has professionalism gone?

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Justin: That was YOUR BEST EVER. You keep doing that. Love it! A pending resume pileup. Love the alliteration there.

      • Funny how other people perceive poetry and what they like better, I really put so little thought into creating this one just tried to fit the words into something not related to blogging.

        • Shane Arthur says:

          @Justin: That is funny. I think when you put little thought into somthing, the true creative magic happens.

          • Somebody mentioned this poetry process is like Madlibs I consider it reverse Madlibs, where instead of just filling in missing words, we fill in the rest around the words.  Still extremely fun and this game is really no different than my poetry game except it has only 10 words and they tend to be “themed”.  I love being creative and if you did 10 games in one day, I would have no trouble churning out 10 poems, I don’t claim they are good but I just have a hobby and real enjoyment for forming poems out of words, almost like the template or framework for me to build upon.

    • Justin, I saw your response to Shane and I must say this:
       
      Art, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder.
       
      What makes your poetry so amazing is that, despite – or due to – the effortlessness on your part, such wonderful word combinations issue forth in pleasing aromas and sounds.
       
      You rock, dude.
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       
       

    • Cathy Miller says:

      @Justin-loved it-especially this line a pending resume pileup -such a visual 🙂

    • Jeanette R. says:

      @Justin. This poem is so true. I’ve seen some horribly written resumes and people coming to interviews in shorts.  When did our society become so lax?

      • @Justin @Jeanetter R. – Professionalism has gotten shortened (love a pun) to a textmsg word. As a word, it is too long to fit comfortably on a tiny screen, takes up too many characters in a tweet, and requires too much effort in the real world.
        Wonderfully thoughtless poem, Justin. 🙂

  4. margaret says:

    I won’t even be pretending
    that I don’t have projects pending
    and that some stuff I have to trash
    cuz my home looks like vintage hash!

    To organize I do approve,
    and major stuff I’ll have to move
    so that there is not the appearance
    of an antique shop sale and clearance!

    My daughter sent to me a link
    for, “Hoarders”(think I need a drink)!
    And I’ll post my comment here
    that the thought of it fills me with fear!

    Somewhere on the dashboard of my car
    might be an old Fender guitar
    and I can give it to some losers
    who are old instrument users.

    But before I start my work today
    I just want to loudly say..
    that I need protein to fuel my legs,
    so I’ll just have some Spam and eggs.

  5. Kelly says:

    (OMG, I guess it’s poetry day…)

    AT LONG LAST??
    1.
    The fuel tank on the dashboard of the Unbelievable States of America reads Empty.
    Allies laugh.
    Enemies,
    laugh.
    Lawmakers slink through unsavory meeting after unsavory meeting.
    Everything from Social Security to the bloody Post Office threatens to sputter to a halt while talking heads yammer on about it.

    2.
    At long last,
    the appearance of a debt-deal
    for our beleaguered, gridlocked country.
    Pending, of course, the convoluted comments of every Jack with a stake in it;
    & that’s every Jack.
    Could be a long day.
    Will more than half the combatants in the theatre approve?
    Or will they take out their tommy-guns and trash the deal and trash
    We the People, the end-users of their spammy, nobody-gets-nothing deal, along with it?
    (Worth remembering: We elected them, all of them.)

    3.
    TBA.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Kelly: Loved it.
      I’m a bit biased, being how I’m an unaffiliated-voter and skeptic, but I believe this ship of ours is too big NOT to fail.

      Article I’ve read recently about this topic that MAY interest folks:
      http://market-ticker.org/akcs-www?post=190964

      • Kelly says:

        Shane–I’ve certainly got my biases, but I’m beginning to wonder if everyone is equally idiotic. May have to revise my previous assumptions about one side or the other.   *sigh*

        • Shane Arthur says:

          @Kelly: One side says, “Paddle left!” One side says, “Paddle right.” Meanwhile, nobody plugs the leak. I think the captain and 2nd in command of the Titanic, upon seeing the iceburg, had a similar argument. 😉

    • Kelly, This Poem Rocks.
       
      Let’s all sign it and send it to the White House. Make sure you highlight the line:
       
      Pending, of course, the convoluted comments of every Jack with a stake in it;
       
      One thing I’ll say about politicians – they have bright futures as Internet Marketers!
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       

    • Jeanette R. says:

      @Kelly. This is a great poem. I heard a comic say the other day that he doesn’t pledge his allegiance to either party because he will always be half-right. How true (sad) that is.

      The majority of us work with people everyday that we don’t get along with but things seem to always get done.  I’m glad they put on their big girl panties and made a decision. Something is better than nothing…right?

  6. Jeanette R. says:

    “Oh Jerry just taste the damn thing. One small bite won’t kill you.” But I’m hoping it will.

    When Stacey awoke that morning she had decided that today would be the day.  After twenty-three years of marriage, two children and twenty annoying parakeets, she could no longer stand her husband. Barring no pending setbacks, she prepared her award-winning dish for his last meal.
     
    She had watched her fair share of detective television shows and searched the Internet to determine what would be the perfect crime.  She found invaluable ideas from the comments posted under the numerous links searched. On one dashboard, users  @Gethimkilled & @Suckapipe gave her the idea of slipping rat poison into his coffee.  The movie 9-5 back in the 80’s was one of her favorites and the scene where the boss is killed by his employees with rat poison came to mind.  She imagined herself just like Lily Tomlin stirring the coffee with mythical creatures around egging her on.

    There he sat in his recliner with his feet propped up watching a football game.  He could barely see over his belly as the potato chip crumbs fell on his shirt. He gave up on his appearance a long time ago…well, so did she, but at least she kept up the illusion of trying by going to the gym three times a week and eating salads for lunch.

    For the past twenty years, he worked as an exterminator.  She couldn’t fathom how he got into tight places with such a fat ass.  Of course, his occupation was another reason why the poison would be the perfect crime.  Her husband didn’t approve of being “green” or using products that didn’t kill the animals. He used hard-core stuff that not only destroyed them, but anything within 20 feet of the substance.  And naturally, he never disposed of the chemicals properly.  Stacey would always find trash bags full of white power thrown around in the garage. 

    Stacey looked up to see the postman delivering their mail. How much longer will they last?  I can’t remember the last time I mailed something. She turned to see if her husband had taken a bite of his sandwich.  There was at least two teaspoons of poison in it.

    “C’mon Jerry.  I won the recipe makeover challenge with that one.  It’s a Spam frittata wrapped in a tortilla. It’s delicious.”

    “I don’t like Spam, Stacey.  Make me a turkey sandwich.  You can give this one to the birds.”  Fuck the birds, you moron.  I should slip some poison into all twenty of their cages tonight.

    “Whatever, I’m going to the gym.  Make your own sandwich.”  Stacey was disappointed but not dissuaded.  There’s always dinner.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Jeannette: Awesome. That is all!

    • Jeanette, you sure know how to write a hook.
       
      Those first three sentences were killer!
       
      The rest of the story rocked with a hard rhythm that befit the dark subject matter. Lovely, through and through!
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       

    • Cathy Miller says:

      @Jeanette R- this had me LOL! @Gethimkilled & @Suckapipe 😀

    • Jeanette R. says:

      Thanks everyone :)  I had fun with this one.  I plan to continue it on Thursday…

    • @Jeanette What a blast!  Two of my favorite lines:

      “It’s a Spam frittata wrapped in a tortilla. It’s delicious.”

      I had to laugh ’cause I can’t imagine … Yuk!

      “Stacy was disappointed but not dissuaded. There’s always dinner.”

      Ah, yes, Thursday’s coming.  I get the feeling Stacey won’t stop until his fat a$$ is lying on his back with legs and arms stuck in the air like one of his dead roaches.

      So enjoyed this! 🙂
       
       
       
       

      • Jeanette R. says:

        Thanks for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed it. I gave myself a few ‘LOL’ moments. I have some great ideas for tomorrow’s continuation. Stay tuned 🙂

  7. Anne Wayman says:

    Life isn’t pending. The trash, the spam and what we tacitly approve of now lives on in both appearance as well as reality. Users often post a comment, hopefully making the link between the old and the new dream. We do have a dashboard to make significant changes for the new.
     
    A bit preachy… but there you have it.

  8. “Let’s invent a new game.” Phineas stretched his mouth into an it’s-a-beautiful-morning wake up yawn.

    “Sure.” Ferb, man of few words, scratched himself in pleasurable agreement.

    “I’m looking for inspiration. Say! This ancient desktop computer gives me an idea … ” Phineas opened the rusty metal casing to reveal dust balls and wires. “Eh, never mind.”

    As he shut the case, it caught his fingertips in a raggedy bite that claimed a strip of skin and two drops of blood. This was edited from the show, so no one ever found out what happened. Until now.

    ***

    My name is Perry, the neglected PC.  I have been resurrected with the blood of the damned. The Proxy Apocalypse is about to begin. I have a link to the Molten Hail worm, which was cleverly hidden as a long-winded comment on CCC #131 (oops!)

    The original post contained the necessary keywords, so it was easy to alter the appearance of the worm. Users who clicked on that page were compromised, as soon as Shane’s Promptimizer approved the comment. I just hope he doesn’t look too closely at his WordPress dashboard. Heh-heh.

    Within the next few days, Cathy, James, Margaret and all those trusting folk will have computers added to the zombie network. They will never know this, because the authors of Molten Hail have injected a brand new script. It is devilishly clever, worthy of Dr. Doofenshmirtz himself:

    Malicious code has been stored in three of the least visited places in all of computerdom – the WordPress pending comments queue, the trash and spam folders. Actually, the pending queue in WordPress relies on users to view them before approving or spamming or trashing. But, because it takes hours for most people to work through that queue, Molten Hail has plenty of time to  bootstrap itself and send me the latest instructions.

    I can’t wait to see the payload. I have no idea what will happen on August 22nd, 2011.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Mitch: Love this post (and I love that cartoon.) I’m nervous now. 😉

    • Cathy Miller says:

      @Mitch-I think I love this-but I’m not sure about that worm thing. LOL! 😀

    • Jeanette R. says:

      Do I smell a new series?  A resurrected PC with the blood of the damned?? Please continue 🙂

      • Jeanette, thanks for your vote. I don’t know if I can keep coming up with fake computer viruses, though. I read the whole history of Conficker and was sooo impressed by what that nasty little worm can do. I was equally impressed with the efforts of the computer security community to combat it.
         
        If I can make the story about the effects, rather than the technology, you will see more of Molten Hail. 🙂
         
        Cheers,
         
        Mitch
         

    • Mitch, you had me thinking that thing might be real! Oh, I do love Phineas & Ferb. I find myself waiting for those “few words.”  So subtle!
       
      Bring on that series, I know it will rock! (Off to check all those hidden spaces where Molten Hail might be molting!)

      • Vernessa, one of the things I find so intriguing about viruses and worms – and what makes it tempting to make up fake ones like Molten Hail – is how technically simple most of them are.
         
        I clicked on a gmail ad this morning about a real exploit that affects WordPress users. Google timthumb exploit for details. Apparently, it takes advantage of a poorly written domain filter for uploadable images.
        The code for the exploit is only about a dozen lines long! Are you kidding me? wow!
         
        My problem with making a series is that, after you deliver the payload, it’s not about the worm anymore.
        The story would just be another disaster thriller, I suppose.
         
        Cheers,
         
        Mitch
         

  9. Cathy Miller says:

    In my corporate days, I had a recurring dream that I was stuck in a pending drawer. This was before the age of auto-response where actual humans followed up to requests for information that the recipient probably threw in the trash – the metal kind – not the spam filter one.

    Try as I might, I could not climb out of that deep drawer of folders. It must be payback for all those claims that we would not approve. I would scratch my way past the stash of papers with their post-it notes filled with a comment or two that gave the appearance of brightness in an otherwise gray world of text.

    The drawer became my dashboard destiny as I searched for the key to get out, but the users of that drawer had hidden it well. I would wake up, knowing I was still trapped inside that drawer. It only took me 30 years to link the dream to my real need to escape and find the freedom that was always inside.

    The paper cuts were killers. 🙂

  10. Frank Ruiz says:

    Wow, another impressive showing from you all!  I’m happy to be back after vacation to read and contribute with you!

    Shane, your story was hilarious, and your “Dictionary” line was classic!

    Justin, it’s amazing how much meaning and resonance you evoked with such a sparse poem.  Even more amazing is the fact that you banged it out and got it done without much forethought!

    Margaret, we’re all hoarders in one sense or another, when it comes to the things that really matter to us.  It’s only when faced with the inevitable of having to ultimately let go of it all that we begin to willfully let go of our pile of things we care about.

    Kelly, your poem is really speaking to me given our current news events (and the debt deal still isn’t approved at the time I’m writing this)!

    Jeanette, once again you amaze with your ability to flesh out a complete story in such a small space and time.  From your gripping opening to your powerful conclusion, it’s got it all… again!

    Anne, I loved your message, as the transitioning between old and new dreams helped to inspire me when writing my contribution today.

    Mitch, your entry was awesome, and your ability to write to your audience tickled me here, even though I’m too new to appreciate it as much as some of the rest of us!

    Cathy, I’d really love to learn more about how you escaped that drawer and found your true freedom.  I think I’m still looking for my key!

    Thanks again to you all for your wonderful contributions that help me realize how much I was missing both last week and before I had the chance to learn about this blog!

  11. Frank Ruiz says:

    “Mr. Ruiz, you really need to stop calling.”

    “Well, I was just checking for an update.  I was told my screenplay was going to be read, pending it being approved by his secretary.”

    “Right.  Well, all your calls spamming our receptionist finally got you to me.  I’m the secretary, and you’re not helping me like you any more right now.”

    “Hey, it’s my piece you should be focused on liking; not me!”

    “Mr. Ruiz, I have a mountain of printed scripts on my desk, an Inbox maxed-out with PDF attachments, and a really attractive recycle bin for both.  I’m looking for any excuse to lighten my workload.  Any scripts I can trash without even reading help clear my queue.  That means if you rub me the wrong way, I feel justified in sliding your screenplay into the ‘circular file.’  Get it?”

    “So you haven’t read any of it?”

    “Listen, I don’t just read screenplays dropped off to me.  We have readers to screen them first.”

    “So what did the readers think?”

    “I’m not at liberty to comment.”

    “They haven’t read it, have they?”

    “To be honest, no, Mr. Ruiz, they haven’t.”

    “Why not?”

    “At this point, why should I give your story to any of our readers?”

    “Because it’s an incredible story: the story of my life!”

    “Ugh, that makes you the Protagonist.  From all appearances, then, your Main Character is a whining asshole.”

    “What about you?!  You’re a frigid gatekeeper!”

    “Yeah, but I’m not trying to get anyone else interested in my life story now, am I?”

    “I hope you’re enjoying crushing the dreams of others, you troll!”

    “Alright, I’ve tried to be reasonable with you, but maybe a more sobering dose of reality is in order.  If you’re begging my boss to read your writing, then you’re not a writer, and you’ll probably never be a writer.  Writers are always writing.  They get their work out to the world regardless of who says ‘no’ to them.  If they write quality, readers will find it, whether it’s a screenplay or a post on a blog.  My boss looks for writers who already accomplished something.  That’s not you, it’s not anyone else responsible for this shit-pile of shoddy stories I’m staring at, and it’s no one that will ever be trying to chase my boss down.  Executives aren’t the link to validating writers; readers are.  The authors that readers clamor for and demand to get more from are the ones my boss actually gives the time of day to.  Are you getting it yet, or do I have to keep banging your head against the dashboard of the car wreck that is your naive dream of ever getting my boss to read your script?”

    “…”

    “Are you still there?  If so, take my advice: counting yourself amongst the population of ‘Final Draft’ users doesn’t make you a screenwriter.  Writing down whatever happened in your life doesn’t make you one either.  Having readers is all that counts.  If you don’t get enough of your own readers to create an audience that executives can’t ignore, then your writing will always be ignored by ‘gatekeepers’ like me.”

    “Fuck you!  Nobody’s convincing me I’m not a writer, damn it!”

    “You know what?  Let me make it even easier for your denial-swamped mind to understand: Get a life first, and then write your fucking life story!  Maybe then you’ll get someone else to care!”

    CLICK.

    • Cathy Miller says:

      @Frank Ruiz-great story-love the frigid gatekeeper LOL! 😀

      • Frank Ruiz says:

        Hey, Cathy!
         
        Thanks for the kudos, and thanks too for the great advice to follow our hearts! I had a chance to check out your Simply Stated blogs, and you’ve lived a really varied and impressive life, career-wise! It’s also awesome that you’re doing what you really love now: writing! I look forward to keeping up with your continued success at http://simplystatedbusiness.com/!

        • Cathy Miller says:

          @Frank Ruiz-Wow-you are too kind-thanks so much for the link ♥ and I am so glad you enjoy the blogs. I have a personal one, too, at http://millercathy.com where CCC if often featured and it allows me to blog about whatever interests me-which can be scary sometimes.
          🙂

          P.S. Sometimes I think my varied life is attention deficit disorder. 🙂

    • Frank, this is really intriguing. It meshes well with what I’ve been reading on storyfix.com.
      On the dialog level, I enjoyed the frank exchange; that gatekeeper has the writer on lock-down!
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Frank: That was awesome. And I couldn’t help but say, “Frank needs a website!” Check out the Thesis theme links in our sidebar. Midphase is a good host I’m familiar with. WordPress rules. Get busy! 🙂

      • Frank Ruiz says:

        Hey, Shane!
         
        Thanks for the great feedback, and for the website advice!  I’ll research the Thesis theme and Midphase hosting further.  As my post implies, it’s something I’ve definitely been thinking about, but like most things I think about that don’t amount to much, we’ll see if any site from me ever materializes!
         
        Thanks again!

        • Shane Arthur says:

          @Frank: Check out this video tutorial I created on messing with WordPress on your own computer using WAMP. This way, you don’t have to commit to an ISP until you get a feel for it.

          • Frank Ruiz says:

            Hey, Shane,
             
            Thanks so much for giving me this link to the tutorial video that you created!  Awesome video, as it takes all the guesswork out of playing in your own locally-hosted development blog space!
             
            Your video made everything super easy!  I’ve downloaded WAMP and WordPress, and when I get a chance I’ll install and start playing around!
             
            Thanks again!

          • Shane Arthur says:

            @Frank: You’re welcome. Let me know how it goes.

  12. Jeanette R. says:

    @Frank. This line is great  “Are you getting it yet, or do I have to keep banging your head against the dashboard of the car wreck that is your naive dream of ever getting my boss to read your script?”

    It reminds of when you go into a fancy store and the person treats you like you can’t afford to buy anything, knowing damn well they can’t afford it either.  Nice work.

  13. Frank Ruiz says:

    Hey, Mitch and Jeanette,
     
    Thanks for the great comments!
     
    Mitch, I got a chance to see your MorphoDesigns website, and I’m loving what I’m seeing on there!  That’s awesome that you created board-game designing software!  What a talented bunch of contributors we have on this blog!
     
    Jeanette, thanks, and yeah, I’ve definitely gotten the stink eye from folks at the “fancy” stores.  You’re so right that the haters are living off of commission and can’t afford their own products; much less afford to turn away sales with their attitudes!
     
    Thanks again, guys!

  14. Hello All!
    Interesting little backstory to this one!


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
     
    She wiped the sweat from her brow, yet again.  Her comrade lay in a heap upon the floor, not more than three feet away from her barefoot.  Glancing at the clock, she realized with a start, he’d been that way for more than 4 hours.

    “Never call the medics!”

    “Don’t touch me . . . Allow no one to touch me!”

    His strange admonishments still rang (loudly) in her ears, every time this happened.  Last time, 6 hours.  Once — at least once every few months — 16 hours without moving a muscle. Under other circumstances, someone might think they were “users“.

    Seven cups in varying colors, sizes, and functionality lined her desk. Not counting the one under the desk, reminding her of the way some item inevitably finds its way from the dashboard to the floorboard, sticks itself under the gas pedal or brake at the most inopportune time. Naturally, she struggles to remove it and toss it into the backseat’s trash heap; now, it can just stay under the desk. Appearances never matter when you work from home. He would have made some unwelcome comment, neat-freak that he is, but right now, he was quite silent.

    She reached for #3. Something weirdly satisfying about numbering her cups.  Always 7, no matter when she starts or finishes the day. Number 3 was still half-full of Total Naked Truth, her favorite veggie blend. (A bit at odds with her daily spam sandwich, but who would know?) Carefully she placed the cup back in its spot. Refreshing!

    Unplugging his keyboard, she laid it within his reach.  Why in Bub’s name did he insist on using that old-school clackety monstrosity? She’d probably have to reboot his otherwise other-worldly box as it protested when hot-connecting that thing to the PS/2 port.

    Grudgingly, she allowed herself a few more seconds of admiration (it was just the keyboard that defied common sense). She wondered why he’d built a triangular-shaped CPU. Bold, vixen-red with shiny black trim. Like those high-top Air Somethings he wore (his loose link to the real world).  Of course, he’d given her a professorial mini-lecture on the utility of this, and the sensibilities of that … but, really, whatever possessed the man?

    A puzzle for another day.

    How long has it been? Oh, 4 hours, 15 minutes.

    Sipping from #3, she returned to the task at hand.  Could she somehow slip some tidbit about his latest stupor into the pending guest post she was formulating?  Giggling, she knew he wouldn’t approve. Reaching for the Thesaurus, she looked up comatose.
     
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
     
    Backstory Continued . . .
    It was written for my CoachNotes blog before I saw the prompts.  You might not believe me, but it’s true!  :)  I was so surprised when I hopped over here, I decided to fit the prompt words in and share it.  (You’re welcome to read the original – Is Blogging Making You Sick? Doctor, Doctor!). Thanks for reading.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Vernessa: That was awesome! You are a natural storyteller indeed.

      P.S. I can’t understand why your posts are landing in spam. I’ll look out for it more closely.

      • Hey Shane,
         
        Thanks so much for your kind words. I love telling a good story. I don’t write them down often so CCC has given me the occasional outlet for that.  Hats off to you and partners for this excellent resource.

    • Wow! This is splendid! It reminds me of a reality television episode I caught one day, about a young lady with narcolepsy. She had roomed with a Tourette’s sufferer and, together, they supported each other.
       
      Back to your story: I love the quirky setting, the thought processes of the narrator and the overall suggestion of a totally plugged-in geek.
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       

  15. Jeanette R. says:

    @Vernessa.  This was great!  You had me chewing up each line and looking forward to the next bite. 

    I like your blog.  My husband and I used to blog (http://www.thenoneliterunner.com) last year but we got overwhelmed with life and had to take a break.I look forward to your future stories.

    • Jeanette R. – Please don’t think I’m rude … I read your comment the day it was left and thought for sure I’d responded to you!  Apparently not . . .
       
      First, thanks for your kind (and encouraging) comment. Writing chewy stories is the desire of every storyteller! 🙂

      Next, I took a look at your blog and read some of the running stories. I’m not a runner (though in another life I used to jog on a regular basis). I enjoyed your sharings.  Maybe life will move over … Maybe you’ll start sharing there again. 🙂

  16. Anne Maybus says:

    Gossip is the spam of life.   Anyone can post a comment to the world without fear of the trash basket.   It can’t be stopped.  No such thing as pending gossip.  It’s straight out there.  No one needs to approve it.  You just roll it out and it collects more and more users on the way.
     
    All you have to do is just whisper about links that shouldn’t be known and wring assumptions from nothing more than appearance.  Spam doesn’t need to be justified.  Just sit at your dashboard of destruction and pick a target. There’s no anti-spam program on gossip.

  17. Rebecca says:

    The writer logged into her email and saw an email about approving a comment. She logged into her WordPress dashboard. Was it spam? Should she approve or trash the pending comment? How would the post contribute to the discussion? The appearance of it seemed harmless. What would users of the website think? Maybe it’s best to check out the link.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Rebecca: Haha! A look into a blogger’s life within admin. So true. I’ve noticed, it’s not until a site is getting spammed by Russian porn, is it a success. 🙂

  18. Rebecca says:

    @ Shane … Lol! Gotta love spam from Russia. I better check pingbacks as well 🙂

  19. @Shane,
     
    I haven’t told you how much I appreciate the ability to edit comments, have I? I do, I do!


Leave a Reply

