Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #202

BET YOU CAN’T do this writing prompt. Take the 10 random words below and, in the comments, crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story tying all of them together! And remember: after (if) you finish, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.)

  1. Lid
  2. Low
  3. Flow
  4. Heavy
  5. Crush
  6. Loud
  7. Ache
  8. Stolen
  9. Mind
  10. Cure

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Resources you should check out:
Thesis: Best Damn Theme on the Web
Collective Ink Well: Personalize Your Thesis Theme
Third Tribe Marketing: Marketing done the right way
Story Structure Demystified: Best damn writing book out there

71 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #202”

  1. margaret says:

    My mind is gone, I’ve flipped my lid
    I can’t remember what I did,
    My schedule’s too heavy, I’m in a crush,
    my brain is spinning, has turned to mush!

    Don’t get me wrong, I’m not feeling low,
    just need a cure for brain overflow!
    I’ve stolen time to nap, rest, recharge,
    but commitment demands are loud and large!

    Tis the season, I know, but my bones do ache
    I’m looking forward to post-holiday break!!!

  2. “You would do well to mind your own business,” the voice snapped. “That lid is on there for a reason, you know.”
    He knew it was there for a reason. He wasn’t stupid.
    “It’s too heavy for a little kid your size, anyhow. It could crush you, you know.”
    He rolled his eyes, ignoring the voice.
    “Hey!” Now the voice was loud and it caused his head to ache, that low-grade thumping that always came before the worst part hit.
    His hands reached up toward the lid again; he should have stolen it when he had the chance and hidden the thing.
    “I’m gonna tell Mom. She’ll flush you down the toilet and you’ll flow out to the ocean with all the other brothers I used to have!”
    Again with the eye-rolling … why wasn’t there a cure for big brothers who thought they knew it all?

  3. Here is my entry for today:
     

    Closing Mind

    Flow of
    the
    heavy crush
     
    Ache in
    my
    stolen mind


    Throbbing loud
    now
    sanity low


    No cure
    keeps
    voices down
     
    Lacking lid
    for
    closing mind

  4. Frank Ruiz says:

    [Sorry for being away for challenges 199-201, but we’ve been dealing with a new challenge at home: How to keep a new baby from crying :)]

    I used to always wear my lid low/
    Probably fit the kid’s flow/
    Shit’s so/
    Heavy it turned me into a schizo/
    Split both/
    Hemi’s pretending’s part of my shtick though/
    Kids won’t let me be everything so I didn’t show

    The aches and pains /
    Remaining ingrained/
    It’s no wonder I’m torn asunder in my mind and my brain

    Outside loud with pride/
    Façade guards what’s inside/
    A crushed heart surrounded by rawhide/

    On all sides I’m blocked from what’s pure/
    Beholden to what’s been stolen out of reach from my cure

    • Been there with 2 kids, know your stress.

    • Fo shizzle, What?!
       
      Congratulations – now read some CCC to the baby – sleep will surely follow – or laughter.
       
      I like this side of your writing, Frank. Thanks for the chuckles.
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       

    • Anne Wayman says:

      Rap on! Found myself tapping my toe.

      • Frank Ruiz says:

        Thanks for the comments, everyone!

        @Justin: Wow, we’re adjusting to our first child, so for all you veterans of larger families, all tips are welcomed!

        @Mitch: Yeah, every once in a while I can’t help from letting the wannabe-MC side of me out 🙂

        @Anne: Thanks for the toe-taps, as that’s more than I usually get from such attempts of mine, heheh!

        Happy Holidays, everyone!

        • Shane Arthur says:

          @Frank: Great write! Emotional and powerful. Sad and funny.
          Yeah, as for advice, I’d say this, “You can fall off the floor.” Translated, with kids you’ll think it can’t get any harder/worse/stressful/ext, but you will survive the bottom and it only goes up from there. You won’t reach the bottom until you’ve been crapped on and thrown up on, and can’t remember the last time you had a good night’s sleep, or the last time you and your lady went out. But, looking back, you will not trade any of it.

  5. Tommy refused to accept his fate. The cure for his twisted mind was a stolen kiss. It couldn’t just be any kiss, though. Certainly not one of those, loud, wet, loveless smacks. Nor could it be a mannish lip-lock designed to crush the breath and teeth, leaving a dull ache that would never be mistaken for lust.

    The perfect kiss would cause one eyelid to flutter helplessly, a low moan to escape and the heart to beat heavy in the breast.  Hot blood and cool love would flow freely between them.

    Almost midnight, and the chaperones hadn’t let up. Tommy looked longingly at Sarah and replayed the scene again.

  6. sh13151223 says:

    No cure for that mind whose love has been stolen by the crushing forces of society. Heavy blows every minute escalates the aching heart’s plight. So low was the sound outside of the loud break inside, they have closed the lid where heart can hear hearts’. The flow is frozen ,can it be opened for a new dawn?

  7. Anne Wayman says:

    My headache was crushing, somehow both loud and heavy. It threatened to blow the lid clear off my mind – a truly low blow.  It interrupted the flow of my now stolen thoughts. I longed for a cure.

  8. Rebecca says:

    The mind can be a powerful tool, if you learn how to properly use it,
    Release the heavy ache from within if you want to cure your life,
    Get down low, deep within your consciousness,
    And take the lid off that, which has kept you stuck in your life,
    Your childhood may have been stolen but you don’t have to allow it to crush your spirit,
    Allow your emotions to flow, no matter how loud they get,
    For they’re the key to your freedom; feel them and free yourself from the albatrosses in your life.

  9. Jeanette R. says:

    So I’ve been MIA lately cause work has been CRAZY but I wanted to wish you all Happy Holidays!!! I hope to be returning to my regularly scheduled programming soon 🙂

  10. Rebecca says:

    @ Frank … Thank you! Throughout my own journey, I’ve discovered that there are many wounded ‘adult children’ in the world. A little therapy goes a long way. I wish more people would seek help and clear out the cobwebs from their lives. The world would be a much better place if they did.

  11. Rebecca says:

    @ Mitch … Thanks … I would have appreciated a ‘How To’ manual when I was born: How to Go with the Flow and Maneuver through Life in 10 Easy Steps. 🙂

  12. Jason Drexler says:

    As the Cure played on my home stereo, I put the lid into the now-empty soup can and set the burner to low, then went to the pantry for a bottle of grape Crush. It was warm, so I went heavy on the ice, and the soda’s fizzing was a soothing balm to my overstimulated mind, though I feared that the cold would only accentuate the loud ache in my lower back molars. Life and its circumstances had stolen my serenity, but I was getting into a better flow as I moved around the kitchen.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Jason: This is a fantastic demonstration of how ordinary objects around a person can spark creativity. Writer’s block is a myth after reading this. Well done.

  13. Aslam Yaqoob says:

    I have been looking after my ailing father for last two weeks. When we brought him to hospital he felt a bit low. He injured his heel while he was taking his evening walk. Part of his heel seemed to have crushed from inside. In the beginning he could only feel a slight ache which later grew from inside and suddenly became unbearable. When it burst, green puss began to flow from it. We then could see lids of our father’s eye moving upward. It was more than he could bear.
    When we took our father to a hospital, the doctor at OPT read our mind, relevant tests reports and thoroughly examined our father. He advised us to have him admitted at once. It was injury of a diabetic foot. The doctor was of the view that cure was only possible if father was hospitalized. Since the doctor was loud and clear, we with heavy hearts did the needful.
    It was indeed a blessing in disguise as the wound manifested other issues my father had unknowingly concealed. Cysts in kidney, blood shortage and infectious urine bladder, were like stolen facts; that have been revealed to us through diagnosis and are taken good care off now. 
    He has been in this hospital for last two weeks. One of us stays with him all the time. He feels strong now, not because he is gaining health. His beaming face tells us all. He loves that we care.

  14. Shane Arthur says:

    “Hey Billy. I’m gonna say hi to her. I might be flippin’ my lid, and loosin’ my mind, but da ache is heavy, da crush is loud, and they ain’t no cure for a lost love stolen by da da slow flow of a woman’s scorn.”

    “What all dat mean, Bobby?”

    “Truthfully, Billy, I don’t know. I just wanted an excuse to go over yonder and tell Tres-ie-Sue dat joke about how since I’s crosseyed, her three nipples looks like one super-nipple in da middle of her chest. She hated dat joke more den she hated me.”

  15. Rebecca says:

    @ Shane … Thank you … Sadly, I think a lot of us have some ‘albatrosses’ in our lives. It makes life one heck of a ride. Lol!

  16. Kelly says:

    DEPRESSION

    a friend, a mom, the cats call in, a
    steady flow of well-
    wishes
    wife thinks i’m ungrateful
    doesn’t see how heavy
    the crush of years sits on me
    how loud the ache in my bones
    can’t hear the phone for all the chatter in my mind
    birthday, schmirthday
    ridiculous hurtday
    lay-low-‘til-to
    morrow-day
    every day’s a
    stolen-from-the-devil-day
    wife reminds me that the only cure is…
    worse than the sickness
    but i’m sick of being older
    sick of
    being
    so i know she’s wrong on that
    dear, dear wife
    she means well
    sorry
    so sorry
    that’s what i’m supposed to say;
    oh, wife!
    i’m too selfish to stay here under these miserable eyelids much longer
    but i’m not too selfish to notice your tears


Leave a Reply

