Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #221

BET YOU CAN’T do this writing prompt. Take the 10 random words below and, in the comments, crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story tying all of them together! And remember: after (if) you finish, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.)

  1. Obsess
  2. Ride
  3. Wave
  4. Cold
  5. Elusive
  6. Follow
  7. Bare
  8. Without 
  9. Simple
  10. Corner

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Resources you should check out:
Thesis: Best Damn Theme on the Web
Collective Ink Well: Personalize Your Thesis Theme
Third Tribe Marketing: Marketing done the right way
Story Structure Demystified: Best damn writing book out there

86 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #221”

  1. Stacia says:

    Iridesce

    I was just riding my bike around the corner when I saw the pretty pearl necklace on display. the little pearls behind the glass window so iridescent, they shone through like little diamonds dancing in a night sky. I almost heard glass breaking through the more I glued my nose on the window, so I thought perhaps if I stop by everyday, the glass will shatter every so often that one day the pearls shall breakaway in the skies flying free like a bird.

    I became obsessed about it. I have my dinner nearby the corner street every night, watching over it with an eagle eye. Still, I know the six-digit price I have to pay in order to stop this. In this dark place I am in my life, these pearls became my precious gem. Then I began to feel that stiff coldness in the air. 
     
    It’s simple, really. They changed the pearl necklace into real diamonds. Now I feel the coldness in my heart, a hollow heart that I can no longer follow.
     
    It’s barely there, you see; so elusive, so obscure – just like the day you waved goodbye to me forever, and all the days I’ve been through since then without you, the light of my life.

  2. Jeanette says:

     “I’ve acquired a new planet and need to visit to ensure my paperwork is in order.  I’ve become obsessed with its elusive attributes.” 

    Tomas pointed at his watch.  The group gathered around him and watched the dial spin counterclockwise. 

    “Since it’s at the corner of the freezing cold Galaxy K, I want to think of a clever name like Chili’s Corner but I want to use the letter K…you know like the Kardashian’s. Without a point of reference, I doubt anyone will remember it.”

    The group shouted in unison.

    “This is what happens when elders get to help with the grid.”
    “They make the most outdated references.”
    “Who the hell are the Kardashians?”

    Tomas held the watch high above their heads. His bare wrists signaled to everyone that the time had come to leave. It was customary for everyone to follow the traveler to the exit chambers but no one moved.

    “I’ve watched patiently while all of you have had your chance to acquire planets and I will not have you ruin it for me.  This ride has been a long time coming.”

    The redhead approached him and put her hand on his shoulder.  “You’re right.  As an elder we should respect you.  However, we simply cannot allow you to bring antiquated data to a fresh planet.  The whole idea of expanding was to bring a wave of enlightenment to the galaxies.” 

    Pulling a hair clip from her hair, the loose locks bounced down her shoulders.  The clip bore the communal logo.  Grabbing it tightly in her right arm, the redhead repeatedly stabbed Tomas in his chest. He slowly sunk to the ground and landed at her feet.

    The group stared in horror.

    “What? It’s not the first time I’ve killed a Kardashian.”
     

  3. Chris Fries says:

    Today is another 10×10* with a little darker vibe…

     
    Mistress of the Night

    Obsess about owning something — anything — and it will own you.”

    I ride the empty subway and dwell on Tonya’s words,

    until a wave of despair and regret swirls over me.

    The night is cold; the deserted platform offers no welcome.

    Rest is distant and elusive; still–alone–I go on.

    I can only submit and follow the path I’ve chosen,

    ashamed that Tonya’s power has laid bare my helpless soul.

    At the beginning I eagerly agreed — surrendered without a thought

    about how ‘having’ might have more repercussions than simple ‘wanting.’

    Tonight the darkness wins again: Tonya awaits around the corner.
     

    *10×10 = Ten sentences of ten words each, using the prompt words in order and in number poisition within each sentence (the first prompt word as the first word in the first sentence, and the second prompt word the second word in the second sentence, and so forth).
     
     

  4. Cathy Miller says:

    I obsess as I ride the wave of cold, forgotten thoughts. Their meaning is elusive as I follow the bare path without a simple map to find my corner of the world.

  5. Nothing was ever simple. Detective Sam Waters had wanted to follow his nose on the Towers case. He was beginning to obsess over this elusive killer. He had to admit that Detective Bateman was right – he’d had nothing more than conjecture until Crime Scene Unit connected the prints from the portfolio to Bateman’s Bentworth case. Waters wondered if this connection represented a lone killer’s tiny wave or if it was the surge of a financial tsunami waiting around the corner for the unsuspecting investigators. If it was the latter, then Waters was going to be out of his depth. He swallowed his pride and picked up the phone.

    15 minutes earlier …

    Captain Delaney was on the warpath. “I don’t know what your beef is with Bateman, Detective. Whatever it is, you need to squash it. I have sixteen open homicides, including these four high-profile murders. The Mayor and the Commissioner have been riding my ass bare-back and I want results!” He was pacing angrily back and forth, punching his fist into his palm as he vented.

    “Now, Bateman tells me that the joint task force is interested in the Bentworths, on account there’s a shitload of money missing. I don’t need you stonewalling him on this. Maybe there’s a connection, maybe there isn’t. I don’t know. What I do know is that you are going to assign all your court appearances to Bennett. You’re going to do double shifts. You’re going to turn over to Bateman anything he asks for. And you’re going to do it without one more complaint coming across my desk. Is that clear?”

    Detective Waters glared right back at his Captain. “Yes. Sir.” He could hardly choke out the two words, but it would be a cold day in hell before he gave the Captain the satisfaction of exploding.

  6. Anne Wayman says:

    Zen

    It’s really simple – really.
    Yes, it’s also elusive.
    But we can’t do without it.
    The bare instructions are: breathe; follow your breath
    Again and again and again.
    Ride the wave, feel the cold, the hot
    Obsess and you’ll eventually turn the corner. 

  7. Out of town for work, but managed to put this one out for today:

    New Glory
    With bare skin
    and wave obsess
    without equal
     
    Feeling no cold
    waiting to corner
    and follow through
     
    Simple task at hand
    ride the elusive wave
    and surf to new glory 

  8. Jen says:

    A tiny wave of champagned slipped up the side of the glass in her hand and she leaned forward onto the marble railing, the only thing between her and the deep vastness of the city below. A copper sconce in the corner cast a golden light onto the patio, into the glass in her bare hand. I followed the cast of light up her white fingers, the liquid settled like a tongue, having licked the lip of the glass. 
     
    I waited, warming up my voice, then offered a simple, “Hello.” Frankly, I was also hoping my deep voice would resonate enough to make the waiter, who had until now been elusive to me (and every other man at this shindig) scarce. Of course, he didn’t take the hint, choosing this moment to be the waiter with obsessive tendencies, ensuring this lovely woman had all the libations she could want. I rolled my eyes and checked myself. This would be easier without his presence. 
     
    Squaring my shoulders, soft and relaxed from the massage I’d splurged on at the club, taking a sip of whiskey to deeper my tenor and maybe with a nod to my own arrogance, who’s to say, I stepped forward toward the waiter, who would indeed, without my experience, be tough competition. 
     
    I dropped my precious whiskey on his tray without a glance toward him, sidled up to the statue of elegance and hoped my cold dismissal would do the trick. 
     
    “Beautiful night, no?” 
     
    She looked at me, lifting her lifted chin to appraise me slowly from foot to ears. I took a moment to let my eyes ride the landscape of her fingers; no rings. Not that it mattered.
     
    She swallowed her champagne, when we both realized the hovering waiter was finally gone. 
     
    “I thought he’d never leave,” I sighed while at the same time, she said, “Now that is a fine looking man.” I saw the raw hunger in her eyes, which were not on me.

  9. The bitter cold chews through my boots and into my toes, each a tiny pink delicacy. The dull pain is intolerable but I refuse to cry. Each size 2 boot has at least one hole in the bottom, their testimony to having been some other child’s property before they were passed on to me. The plastic grocery bags that I wrap my feet in to keep the wet snow from soaking through my grungy grey-white socks (not without holes themselves) to the bare skin underneath, crinkles with every step. It proclaims to the world my shame of being poor. 

    I stomp my feet briskly to try and keep them warm and looked around the schoolyard to ensure nobody is paying attention to me. Several girls are making angels in the snow, giggling and tossing the soft white powder at each other in a carefree manner. I am pretty sure that none of them is obsessing about the thought of a simple dry piece of bread left in their desk and how it might make that gnawing rumble of hunger stop for at least a few hours. I am pretty sure none of those girls with their pink bows and clean clothes is trying to figure out how to make that same piece of bread stretch into tomorrow in case their father is still gone with the week’s grocery money. “Envy is the devil’s tool”, my mother often says, but I see how she looks at other women in the market as she slips a can of 30 cent beans into her purse guiltily. 

    A snowball, hard with ice and wet with slush, arcs through the air and connects with my chest, knocking the breath from my lungs. Waves of nausea break over the shores of my stomach and threaten to spill into reality. I try hard to ride it out and gather my composure quickly. Following the direction the snowball came from, I look up apprehensively. The elusive culprit dashes behind the corner of the building where several boys can be heard laughing loudly. The girls stop their play, staring with interest to see what comes next in the schoolyard drama.

    I stomp my feet again, tuck my bare hands into my armpits and turn toward the school doors hoping that recess will soon be over and I can return to the better world found in books.

  10. Shelley says:

    There she stood: bare headed and cold. Without  hesitation, the aging woman made a simple gesture of the hand.  A gentle wave.  One that caught the frigid, winter air like an elusive butterfly.   

    From the corner of her eye, she began to follow an approaching taxi, praying for salvation.    Rather than obsess with the thought of a ride, she slowly shuffled on.

    (I tried to embolden the words, but the editor wouldn’t let me)

       

        

       

     

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Shelley: Welcome to the CCC addiction! Great 1st submission. Let us know what you thought of the challenge and how you found us. I’ll add your name and url to the CCC Community Links page nex (Yeah, free link love).
      Everyone welcome Shelley to the fun.

      • Shelley says:

        Laura Spencer had your link on one of her posts from Writing Thoughts.

      • Cathy Miller says:

        @Shelley – Welcome to CCC!

        It won’t be long until you obsess over the joy ride that is CCC. Each week brings a wave of new words that leave a cold sense of loss when you bold the last word and wait for the next challenge. But, then you rejoice as you read what all have left behind and the elusive is no more as you follow the pattern of the heart.

        We bare our souls and share a smile without a thought to the simple joy we find in our little corner of creativity. Welcome to the addiction.

    • Welcome to the CCC, Shelley! These submissions are chilling me to the bone. LOL I can relate to that  old lady, preferring to walk as far as humanly possible when winter strangles public transportation.
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       

  11. Shelley says:

    @Cathy, @Shane, and @Mitchell…thank you for your warm welcome!

  12. Shane Arthur says:

    “Hey Billy. I toldt ya I was gonna ride dat elusive corner-office obsession-wave right into da corner office before long and dat you should follow my lead or get out da way. My simple hemorrhoids water pillow idea made our company so much money, I’m a VP now. I’m gonna be like da Bayou Billionaires before long. But I couldn’t bare bein’ without my good buddy or leavin’ you out in da cold, harsh world of cubicle dwellers, so I’m promotin’ you to my personal secretary. Untils we get your office ready, your temp office is in da basement next to dat stapler guy.”

  13. Gail says:

    We ride together, able to follow the waves without a care. Our love keeps out the cold. Only the simple truth will keep us safe. Every corner bares an opportunity for elusive enlightenment. I am obsessed with the light you shine so brilliantly.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Gail: Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Welcome to the CCC indeed. Nice, tight writing. I want to read more.

  14. Meredith says:

    Light is elusive,” she told her wife. “I know I’ve turned corners but this ride is far from over, and light is not necessarily at the end of the tunnel. Follow me not, for I may lead you into a cold, dark room.”
    After she bared her soul, she walked out of the room without so much as a simple look. She was obsessed with the waves of her ocean ride called life, even if it meant walking alone.

  15. molly says:

    word for word I obsess, turn, confiscate,
    ride the wave of cold, hard discontent through its sharp corner
    follow the path past my bare heart,
    and without a wisp of defeat,
    in a simple kiss,
    unwrap into elusive, soul-melting flow.

  16. Kelly says:

    MAYBE I COULD THINK ABOUT THAT YEAR

    Maybe I could think about the year
    when you shook hands with the governor as he walked past
    Do you remember that year?

    It’s always hot in July but that year it was extreme
    We spooned the last cold droplets from our cups of water ice and
    tried to ride waves of near heat-stroke with good humor as we stood
    following the gaze of the crowd along the parkway

    You were obsessed with a simple American flag you’d made from felt that morning
    marvelling at every tiny star and missing
    the parade going by, unless I brought the marching, singing, drumming hordes to your attention
    Such is childhood.

    I need something to keep me from tears today
    so maybe I’ll remember how I saw him out of the corner of my eye
    bare-headed and sweating profusely
    tried to explain to you, “That’s the governor!” but I think
    without a flag in his hand, he had no chance
    of impressing you

    You, however
    blonde curls gleaming in the sizzling sun
    impressed the governor
    (probably the words “photo op” occurred to him)
    and he strode directly to us and stopped

    You, knowing nothing of etiquette
    but sensing the moment, perhaps,
    reached out your tiny hand
    the wrong one
    For the prince of Pennsylvania to shake
    (the right one was holding that flag with fierce pride)

    He stretched out his own, weathered brown paw
    and laughed a hearty laugh that shook me and surprised the crowd around us
    His right arm in a sling, he complimented you on having the grace
    to offer your wrong hand to his
    The smile you gave to him is what I’m thinking about now

    Even then, your smiles were so elusive outside of our tiny, Mama-and-daughter existence

    He had no way of knowing that most people never see
    your eyes light up like they did that hot day,
    and today,

    as I watch doctors work to bring down your fever,
    I wish he were here to laugh that fantastic laugh
    to bring your baby-teeth smile back to me again.


Leave a Reply

