Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #229

BET YOU CAN’T do this writing prompt. Take the 10 random words below and, in the comments, crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story tying all of them together! And remember: after (if) you finish, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.)

  1. Younger
  2. Stood
  3. Change
  4. Reaction
  5. Inside
  6. Anger
  7. Power
  8. Believe
  9. Art
  10. Secret

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Resources you should check out:
Thesis: Best Damn Theme on the Web
Collective Ink Well: Personalize Your Thesis Theme
Third Tribe Marketing: Marketing done the right way
Story Structure Demystified: Best damn writing book out there

53 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #229”

  1. Today’s poem is one where we had high hopes when we were younger only to join and give up fighting the forces.

     
    Conformity
     

    When we were younger
    we stood for change
    used to believe in reaction
    inside anger our secret art
    to change the world someday
    then we grew up eventually
    realizing we had no power 

  2. Chris Fries says:

    Hey all,
     
    Sorry for my short stretch of AWOL-ness!  I’m transitioning work assignments, and have been swamped — I was in training all of last week.
     
    Anyway, today I’m back with another 10×10* reply, based on a news story I saw this morning:
     

    I’m Putting My Foot Down!

    Younger men should be the ones who have to work!

    I’ve stood long enough; I’ve more than paid my dues.

    You can’t change reality: I’m just not able to work!

    And yet, the reaction I get from the government is:

    “We’ll still put you inside some horrible factory all day.”

    It makes me seethe with anger — They just don’t care.

    So I’ll just use my own power, so to speak.

    I can do it if I only believe in myself.

    I think my solution is a work of art, truly:

    A little cutting and a little baking — that’s my secret!
     

    And here’s the news story this is based on:
    http://news.yahoo.com/austrian-saws-off-own-foot-avoid-report-135256211.html
     

    *10×10 = Ten lines of ten words each, using the prompt words in order and in number position within each line (the first prompt word as the first word in the first line, and the second prompt word the second word in the second line, and so forth).

  3. Meredith says:

    It was her secret, this younger version of herself popping up from time to time. She remembered the days when she, too, was pushing for change. Oh yes, things were not so much different than now, but not a one under 40 would believe her. It used to inflame her inside, causing a chain reaction of heretic vocalizations and poor choices, just to make a point. Her anger had since subsided every year until she found she often stood on the other side of the seesaw waiting for her unsuspecting counterpart’s patience to settle in…so she could step off. The art of using anger and power was something she consciously developed over the last 60 years.

  4. The Saga of Bayou Billy…

    So I’m sittin’ on the front porch eatin’ a big ol bowl a gumbo when all of a sudden the younger of my brother’s sister’s cousin’s kids took’d an allergic reaction to the honey he was eatin. It weren’t the honey neither that caused the problems. It was the bees. I ain’t ‘xactly the sharpest tool in the shed but I knows that he shouldna stuck’d his head inside that there bee hive to git it. There’s a secret to gettin’ honey off them there bees. Comes to think of it, it’s more of an art form getting’ it wit-out getting’ stung’d. I done tried it three or two times myself and it ain’t ‘xactly all dat hard.

    First thing you gots to do is get yerself a big ol’ ladder to get up all nice and close to the hive. Then you gots to get some gullible kid to stood on the ladder while you throw a few small rocks at the hive.

    Once them there bees get a good mad work’d up, they will come out buzzin’ with anger and lookin’ for revenge. That’s when you run’d like b’jesus wit all your power until they ain’t gots nobody to sting ‘xcept the dumb smuck on the ladder.

    So while he’s screamin’ like a banshee y’all just gots to change direction and head on back to the bee hive. By that time the smuck woulda run’d off and the bee’s woulda  chased a’fer him. Believe you me, it works ev’ry time.

    Don’t work out none too good for the utter fella but hey, that’s how it’s done down here at Gator Crossing. But is that how my brother’s sister’s cousin’s younger kid done did it?
    No sir-ree Bob, he done got the bright idea to stick his wee little head in there and have his-self a look see.

    So while he’s runnin’ around the yard wit a hive on his head I say’d to myself, “Self,” and I recognized the voice right away cuz it sounded just like me. “Self, “I says, “How come is it Winnie the Pooh ain’t been banned from TV?”

    It ain’t ‘xactly a children’s show if you thinks hard on it. It’s a male bear wit a girly first name and his last name is somethin’ you don’t wanna step in. His bestest buddies is a manic depressive donkey, an ADHD tiger and a control freak rabbit sufferin’ from OCD. Ain’t no big surprise some kid named after a bird is the only one who sees ‘em. Probably cuz he took too many hallucinogenics. Either that or they’s somethin’ in the water at the hundred acre wood.

    Anyways, that’s about all the time I gots fer t’night but b’fore I go, let me give you sumthin’ to think on… if watchin’ “Wild Kingdom” inspires you to write a cook book, you might have a little Cajun blood in ya.

  5. Lisbeth stood outside of the Towers, trying to drum up the courage to march inside and confront her father. What a cliché her life had turned out to be. Lisbeth flashed on the emotional damage that had been wrought by her parents’ secret liaison. Her mother’s money and four years of therapy had tamped the anger of rejection. However, neither doctor nor mother could control Lisbeth’s reaction to the news that she had a younger sister who enjoyed all the rights enshrined in the immuration of a sanctioned birth to an enormously rich father.

    The jealousy and rage had persisted well into her late teens until, out of the blue, Cornelius Watson sent for Lisbeth. Lisbeth was excited to finally take her rightful place as an heiress. She imagined that, in time, she would come to befriend her sister. Vanessa would look up to her big sister and all would be right with the world. Lisbeth’s mother was only too happy to be rid of the burden that had killed her modeling career. In fact, they never heard from her again.

    Lisbeth’s fantasy was crushed within hours of landing at Mercy International Airport. During the ride to the Towers, Cornelius explained that he was separated from his wife and that Vanessa stayed on the west coast with her mother. He instructed Lisbeth to make no attempt to contact them.

    Lisbeth learned of the lies later, long after she had come under the power of her father’s manipulations. When she openly defied him by calling the west coast home, his wife had laughed into the phone and told Lisbeth that she and that whole army of money-grubbing gold-diggers had as much chance of getting a dime out Cornelius as she did. She suggested that Lisbeth take what she could get and run before the man tired of her and threw her out. Lisbeth was so humiliated by the artless monologue that she swore she would change that woman’s tune.

    Taking a deep breath, she approached the lobby, checking her disguise in the twilight reflection. With a wicked smile worthy of the Watson name, she nodded to the concierge and headed toward the elevators.

    ***

    “Are you threatening me?” Cornelius Watson couldn’t believe Lisbeth had waltzed into the penthouse suite.

    “I most certainly am. You are going to tell Laura and Vanessa the truth about me. You are going to never, ever use Vanessa the way you used me. And you’re going to transfer 200 million to this account. I will disappear. If you interfere with the transfer out of the account, if you attempt to track me, if you even look at Vanessa cross-eyed, I will forward a certain airline receipt and a certain numbered account to that task force.”

    Cornelius refused to swear at his adversary. In a remarkably calm voice he called her bluff. “Lisbeth, in five minutes, I can close that account I established for you. In less than an hour, I can have that airline ticket record disappear. As for Laura, I told her about you years ago. You can’t threaten me with anything!”

    “Oh, but I can, daddy. I don’t care about the email. I know you never told Laura because I called her. Plus, I’m not talking about the expense account. I’m afraid you paid the Bentworth trustees a handsome sum to divert Tom’s income from his unscrupulous investments to an offshore account which you sloppily opened in your books and immediately closed. The wonderful bankers will only reveal that transaction to the proper authorities, once they have the original account number.”

    Cornelius actually smiled. “Well played, dear. You obviously paid attention to your lessons. I know it will be impossible to find that line item in the obscure holding company I don’t even realize I had acquired from some larger takeover.”

    Lisbeth didn’t return the smile. “Exactly.”

    “Very well. Shall we get started?”

    “Of course not!” Lisbeth handed her father an envelope. “Three days from now, you will call the number inside.  Someone will give you the account number. Don’t bother trying to track it. It will belong to one of your many subsidiaries. No sense in reinventing the wheel and going through the legal hurdles.”

    Cornelius was impressed. She knew three days wasn’t enough time for him to alert everyone who could possibly have a reason to initiate such a trifling sum. Not only that, if she suspected any interference, this other account would suddenly materialize. He shrugged his shoulders and said, “I merely wondered if you had wanted to call Laura, now.”

    “I’m not stupid! We’re going to use live chat.”

    “Fine, whatever. Let’s get this unpleasant business over with. I’m going to the bathroom, first.”

    “I will have it set up in your laptop. Hurry back.” Lisbeth sat down at her father’s desk and began tapping keys on his computer.

    Cornelius went into the bathroom, picked up the extension and direct-dialed Captain Delaney. When Delaney answered, Cornelius whispered two words: “She’s here.” He flushed the toilet, turned on the faucet and grabbed the soap.

  6. Anne Wayman says:

    It’s no secret.
    It is both art and the willingness to believe
    Which turns away the power of anger.
    Inside our reaction changes
    We stood firm and at least felt younger.

  7. Lynne says:

    Well, here goes the first time I’ve ever done anything like this. 

    I stood staring, but not seeing, at the mound of dirt beneath my feet. Knees trembling in reaction to the power of the anger I felt inside, I managed to hold back the urge to scream. Hearing movement beside me, I glanced back. She was a work of art, that one. Younger than me, blonde and curvaceous. She had no right to be there. 
    “I believe I should thank you for allowing me to attend”, she said. “But what made you change your mind? Not that I don’t appreciate it because, well..you know..”
    I turned my back on the mound of dirt and slowly walked away, leaving my buried husband and his grieving mistress behind me. I smiled. How he came to be under that mound of dirt remains my little secret. 

    • Meredith says:

      beautifully done, Lynne! Welcome!!!

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Lynne: Super, super job. Welcome to the CCC. I love what I see from you already. We love getting new word slingers. Everyone welcome Lynne to the club. Hope to see you each Monday and Thursday. What did you think of the challenge and how did you hear of us?

      • Cathy Miller says:

        My apologies for being late – I’m going to lose my welcoming Queen crown.
        ============================

        @Lynne – Welcome to CCC!

        Remember when you were younger and you stood against anything that brought you down? For many of us, life takes a turn to change that and we miss the fun we had. CCC restores that time and the reaction is always the same – pure unadulterated joy.

        Inside each of us is a beauty that anger sometimes hides. We have enormous power if we believe in the words of our heart. The art is in the secret that CCC shares with all.

        Welcome!

    • Welcome to the CCC, Lynne. That was a great way to introduce yourself. Zowie!
       
      The last sentence is killer (literally? LOL)
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       
       

  8. Shane, I’m really glad to see you’re still at it. Bravo as always.

  9. Lynne says:

    Thanks for the warm welcome. I followed a link from Men with Pens, found the challenge and thought, “Now, this could be fun”. I’m testing the waters to see if I can finally make a move towards getting down on pages the stories that I’ve been keeping in my head. I welcome the opportunity to test my creative juices. Thank you all. 

  10. Shane Arthur says:

    “Hey Billy! If I were younger, I’d a stood my ground and my reaction would have been filled wit’ powerful anger, believes you me. But, I’s changed inside. Maybe I gots da Low-T or somethin’.”
    Not me, Bobby. I’s so mad I sent a letter to da U.S. president tellin’ him he better get us our jobs back or I was gonna show him change HE can believes in. I put some of my white dandruff inside da letter to let him know how bad my dander is up.”
    “Wow Billy! Dat was artful thinkin’ on your part. Hey! Look over yonder! Them fellers walkin’ dis way looks like Secret Service ‘bout ready to tell us a secret.”

    • Shane, that’s just nasty. Dandruff. Really? LOL
      The Secret Service will be bringing them Head and Shoulders on a silver platter!
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       
      p.s. What is “Low-T”?
       

  11. Rebecca says:

    If you want to be younger, control your reaction to people and situations.
    If you want to change, be ready for everything that comes along with it.
    Your current circle of friends may drop you, and your family may not understand you.
    If you hold anger inside of you for a long time, you give your power away to it.
    The secret and art of life is to believe you can be, do, and have what you want in life.
    Others have stood in your shoes. Their circumstances may have been different, but the stories are the same. 
    There are many forms of pain. But, you can heal and move forward in life.
     

  12. Rebecca says:

    @ Shane … Yep! … The words were perfect. 🙂

  13. Kelly says:

    REVELATION

    I believe in the power of art—and the words, on this page, are art. This writing can uncover secrets; reveal anger & love & faith we’d prefer to hold inside; can show us places where we stood when we were younger and steer us toward changes we didn’t know we were capable of making. It can provoke reactions so profound they consume us corporeally.

    There are times when we must hold the art inside. Times when it is as precious as a white tiger. Times when we must lie to keep it contained.

    And then there are times when we must stand, shivering, as the art reveals our garnet scars to the world.


Leave a Reply

