Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #260

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.)

  1. Pain
  2. Hook
  3. Save
  4. Pretty
  5. Sweet
  6. Home
  7. Lady
  8. Tonight
  9. Thrill
  10. Ramble

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Resources you should check out:
Third Tribe Marketing: Marketing done the right way
Story Structure Demystified: Best damn writing book out there

55 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #260”

  1. K says:

    I finally wrote a shorter one, but I’m not sure it’s exactly comprehensible.
     
    The pain he was constantly exposed to was a hook tightening around his neck. Tonight, he had promised he wouldn’t dare to lay a hand on her to save himself from the sin he ultimately committed. But now, they were spewing venom in each other’s faces. It’s rage that takes control of them. She used to be a pretty, sweet lady, but now, her mannerisms were harsher and colder. Her expressions admitted fear. For him, the actions following their usual vehement ramblings were a thrill. He had lied once again, saying that he would show restraint that he didn’t possess. She took one last look at him and disappeared out of the open window. He didn’t bother to follow her and just watched. She would come back; she always did in the end. This was home. 

  2. Liss Thomas says:

    Pain distorted her pretty face but it would not stop her.  She tore barefoot and unladylike through the bramble and flailed at branches trying to hook and snag her.  Tonight, the trip held no thrill of adventure, but terror.  They were getting close, gangly creatures on the backs of what she dared call horses.
     
    She dodged the snap of a strange reptile joining the already intense chase, its teeth glistening with saliva.  Others appeared, rambling toward the sound of her panicked footsteps.  She wished she were home, wished for the sweet swell of pastries from her mother’s kitchen not the acrid scent of blood, strange animals, and fear.
     
    She felt the thunder of an animal close behind her, looming large even though she dared not look behind.  Another appeared to the right, dagger like teeth visible from its pulled back, snarling lips.  Hot breath burned at her neck, a thick arm closed around her waist hoisting her up and onto the back of the fast moving beast.  The rider speed deeper into the jungle, away from the chase and the danger.
     
    Her eye lids grew heavy from exhaustion.  She stole a glance back at the one who’d saved her from sudden death.  But under the hooded cloak, the face was not quite human.

    • K says:

      I had actually wanted to write something like this for today’s challenge with the main character not being home and being in a realm of monsters. Mine didn’t turn out so well. This was really good and captured the sense of fear. Keep writing! 

    • Another good, dark passage. Which word sent you done this path?
      The ending is foreboding!
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       
       

      • Liss Thomas says:

        I thought of using the opposite feel of the words.  Sweet, lady,pretty, you would think something nice.  So I just flipped the logic and went down a different path.  It fit with a WIP I’ve outlined.

        • Heh. I like the way you think. Go against the grain.
           
          Cheers,
           
          Mitch
           
           

          • Kathleen K says:

            Liss — I like the visions that came to my own mind as I read “She tore barefoot and unladylike through the bramble and flailed at branches trying to hook and snag her.  Tonight, the trip held no thrill of adventure, but terror.”  

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Liss: Super, super job! More of this one.

    • An enjoyable fantasy prose, and whisks you right in.

  3. Queen
    I am not one to sit at home while my countrymen sacrifice their lives for me. I’m not just a pretty lady waiting for the knights to save the throne. Sometime tonight, I will venture forth beyond the granite wall. Perhaps I shall sail along the flank – it will be much faster than waiting for the silly horsemen to ramble hither and yon. Besides, not everyone needs to know my business…

    …The Lord of the Far Realm has enthralled me. The hook? Just those sweet nothings whispered in my ear during my dalliances in his lands. He knows that his troops are powerless before me, since I destroyed his wife. Do not let it be said that I know nothing of a good skewering. Oh, how she squealed as he abandoned her to her fate.

    Yet, the final pain may be my own, for the Dark Lord has summoned me to the castle. I have defied him by not allowing myself to be exchanged for the Lady in White. I fear he knows that my heart beats loudly in my breast – not for him, but for the thrill of forbidden love.

  4. Paul says:

    The pain was sweet, an electric thrill that startled my crooked spine. Not everyone would agree with my interpretation, but tonight I didn’t care.

    My thoughts began to ramble as the pain continued, a hook in my gut that kept on wrenching.

    The Sun chased the Moon, split in two and consumed it.
                         
    The pretty lady leaned over me, fiddling with apparatus that I couldn’t see.
     
    A giant Babybel gave energy and life to the planet.
           
    Aliens probed me where no man should be probed.

    Nothing could save me.

    But for a lifelong moment I enjoyed it:

          Feeling something,

                being at home,

                      crazy humanity.

     
     
        – There’s nothing we can do now.

        – He doesn’t feel any pain?

        – Nothing. He has no awareness. He’ll pass over soon.
     

     
    We might make its acquaintance, and it may even make frequent visits, but life’s too short a time to truly know pain.

  5. Lucy says:

    Men were talking in voices lowered to a whisper as women with ashen faces silently started to break down camp and prepare the covered wagons for our westward journey to a new home land. Not quite a man but beyond being a boy I am tasked to tie down the tarps for the traveling party using the tying hook to secure down the flaps. Everyone felt the uneasiness in the air save the children and the pretty old daft lady who rambles to herself. 
     
    A sweet chilling thrill went through me as I overheard two leaders talking. They had discovered the bones I left behind. They couldn’t keep the screams of pain and barking mad howls heard in the night a secret but they will the bones. The men spoke of how unusually clean the bones were on the newly killed game. What spooked them most were the footprints. Prints of a human barefoot that transformed into what looked like a large paws similar to a large dog. When the men walked away I hopped down from the wagon and washed the mud from my bare feet in the stream wondering if the moon was full again tonight.

  6. Rather dark, sad story poem today.  

    Final Distraction
    Focusing on something pleasant
    a desperate distraction from the pain
    like the sweet thrill waiting tonight
    his pretty lady home in a cozy warm bed
    he would save these memories until the end
    ramble to forget and talk away death
    paying little attention to the accident
    that left a hook embedded in his chest 

  7. Shane Arthur says:

    Pain is the bloody hook I’m hanging from. Save me my pretty little sweets. Come home to my mouth like my lady. Tonight, the thrill of dullness is here. Tonight, the pain rambles to the back of the bus.

  8. Kathleen K says:

    Mind-full Conversation (continued)
     
    She’s on the hook tonight the thrill of sweet success is filling me and many others Lovie that SOB of a sister/wife pleaded guilty today did I tell you how much I hate the word “pleaded” why do they make us use that form of the word still? I am sorry, I digress; I ramble.
     
    Yes, son, I said she plead guilty to kidnapping and drug charges; which I did not know they were charging her with. The D.A. said, “She’s seen the light.”
     
    Yes, Lovie, the D.A. has helped save your little lady some pain. Pretty sweet, yes son.
     
    The sister/wife… no she is not on the hook for your murder Lovie. The D.A. is not able to prove when she knew … but there is more time to file more charge, she is not Scott free, she has had to sign off and relinquish all of her rights to her twin daughters who are also her twin nieces and she will be going away for what we still hope is 20 years, sentencing is not until after her bother/husband’s trail.
     
    Yes, yes, Lovie, your intended bride will have to testify at his trial. Yes, Lovie, we are still going to be there sitting in the front row for that Orange Blob to see, out of the corner of his eye, and for his family to see; and if timing is right, before we head home from his trial I will try to be there for the sister/wife’s sentencing too. Oh! She will see me! She will not be able to avoid my eye contact at the trial.
     
    Yes, yes Lovie. This is a victory. A small one, yes son, but let’s focus on the fact that the D.A. has been able to save our girl the suffering at least one of the trials. You see, Lovie, the sister/wife pleading guilty to these charges means there is no chance for her to appeal.
     
    Oh, Lovie… it is the small graces we must hold on to. There well be more. I understand. Yes, time will tell. Yes.
     
    Hey, don’t forget … the others in jail did not like the sister/wife when she was first in the jail… remember…?
    They will not like her in Prison either.
     
    That’s my boy. Smile … that is a wonderful thing. I can see your smile Lovie. Yes. The small pleasures are what we have to hold on to now. While I remember your beautiful smile. 

  9. Rebecca says:

    The final chord of Led Zeppelin’s “Ramble On” was playing on the radio while Jaime was driving down the highway. 

    “Next up is a little “Sweet Home Alabama” from our Southern brothers, Lynyrd Skynyrd,” said the radio personality.

    “Well at least they’re playing good songs on the radio. First it was “Pretty in Pink” by the Psychedelic Furs, followed by Zeppelin’s “Ramble On” and Skynyrd’s “Sweet Home Alabama,” said Jamie to her cat Lila who was purring away in her travel carrier in the backseat. “Now all they have to do is play, Michael Jackson’s “Thriller” and the Smashing Pumpkins “Tonight Tonight,”” said Jaime.
     
    Jaime was leaving the East Coast for the South to get back to her Southern roots. She missed her grandmama and family terribly and was done with the rat race of New York. She was fed up with the bureaucratic bullshit. Plus, her grandmama made her an offer she couldn’t refuse. They would open a bookstore and café together. The café would feature grandmama’s oldest recipes from fried green tomatoes to red velvet cupcakes. She always said, “Jaime, honey. You can’t get authentic red velvet on the East Coast. Not like your grandmama makes.” Jaime’s grandmamma was a fine Southern lady, well respected in the community. There was already buzz about the bookstore and café and it wasn’t even open yet. They didn’t even buy a storefront. 
     
    A pain shot down Jaime’s right leg. She was driving for hours and didn’t take as much as a bathroom break. Jaime wanted to save as much money on gas as she could. After all Hooksville was just a few more hours away. She couldn’t believe it didn’t take her that long to drive from New York to Georgia. It was as if something was pushing or pulling her car down the highway back to her home state.

  10. Rebecca says:

    @ Shane… Thank you! I couldn’t resist.

  11. siggiofmaine says:

    Tonight it pained me
    to see the sweet pretty lady
    needing to be saved  after
    falling into the rambling roses
    while walking
    to her home sweet home
    after a thrilling night at
    the theater.
    She tried to escape them
    by hook, or by crook.
    It was painful,
    falling into the rambling roses
    but she was helped up
    by a sweet man
    who then walked her home.
    .

    The young lady had been
    taking her sweet time
    tonight rambling home
    getting a thrill out of the night sky
    and the pretty stars above…
    the hook of the big dipper
    had caught her eye.
    The pain of saving money,
    walking the long way
    home was eased by the
    pretty views of night.
    …………………..
     

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Siggi: I love how you do these. Unless people try this, they’ll never know how hard it is. Super job.


Leave a Reply

