Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #267

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.)

  1. Slick
  2. Creamy
  3. Fly
  4. Charm
  5. Breeze
  6. Straight
  7. Flow
  8. Kink
  9. Zoom
  10. Clip

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Resources you should check out:
Third Tribe Marketing: Marketing done the right way
Story Structure Demystified: Best damn writing book out there

29 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #267”

  1. Shane Arthur says:

    Oh, it was slick and creamy alright.
    But like fly guts with charmless funk wafting in the breeze — trespassing straight into my nose flow, kinking my forehead, and zooming my gag reflex at the clip of sound.

  2. K says:

    I feel as though today through this challenge I have ranted. I guess I’m preparing for school because this resembles as essay. Hope it isn’t too bad.

    Parents seemed to be charmed by the idea that their children can potentially be marked down in history. While it is true that there are extraordinary youths amongst mediocrity, parents’ wishes for them clip their wings; the children are unable to fly, coerced into a lifestyle they can’t adjust to. Parents are often respected and looked up to as a luminary, and as their kid, there is nothing more important than trying to please them. Pressure upon the kids become detrimental as more time passes. Depression settles and contemplating suicide becomes prominent. Life zooms by, and in the middle of their journey, kids reflect and realize this is not what they want for themselves. Yes, power is a desirable trait. Yes, a career that’s lucrative is what everyone wants. But does that mean sacrificing happiness is necessary to achieve that? In a way, yes, yielding to parents means surrendering happiness. For that to happen, children brave through life and are masked with a straight face.
     
    The flow of children’s lives don’t deviate very much. Set out on this one goal, they are expected to fulfill it. No matter who are the parents, every mom and dad desires for their children to be the best in a certain area they choose whether it’s sports, beauty, academics, etc. Everyone should be aware of this fact: no one person is the same. Not every child will agree with what their parents want them to become. Although there is dissension, the parents exhibit control and continue with shaping them to be an ideal child. At this point, I want parents to come to their senses here. There is no such thing as a perfect child. People were made with flaws; no one is perfect no matter how one glorifies another. Considering that, take a step back and look at the big picture. One of the greatest things I can’t fathom happening is the ignorance of the kids’ health and mental stability. Children are struggling and suffering because they are going through life listlessly. What happened to the time kids received creamy ice cream as a genuine reward and were told that anything they dreamed to do, their parents would support them? It’s not to say finding a rewarding job or getting recognition is a bad thing, but when children are unhappy with their role in society, do parents supposedly get a kick out if it as long as their children are successful?
     
    Life is as inconsistent as breezes, so don’t force someone to be who they aren’t. People are forgetting that children have dreams of their own. Though their dream may not be profitable or have them renowned, parents should at least allow them to try. Kids of today, stand with your head held high and aspire to be the person you want to be not what others need you to be. The road ahead might be slick with obstacles, pitfalls, and kinks, but don’t permit them to deter you.
     
    “Do what you like and love what you do.”

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @K: That was cool stuff. A good message indeed.

      P.S. I feel as though today through this challenge I have ranted. I guess I’m preparing for school because this resembles as essay. Hope it isn’t too bad. — Only my opinion (sorry if I’m out of place), but be mindful of the words you use. You’ve got talent, so I want to see you say:

      I KNOW I ranted today, but it felt damn good. School’s coming so I’m prepping. This is my best yet. 😉

    • K, you get an A+ for brilliance in clarity. Life is as inconsistent as breezes, indeed. Parents need to wake up to that reality.
       
      Personally, I was happy to achieve on the merit of passion. I WANTED to learn. Dear old dad was fine with me no matter which way I went. He was just happy I didn’t do drugs. 🙂
      As a parent, myself, I learned to let my children do their own thing. The closest I came to being one of your examples was when one of my sons displayed a gift for whipping everyone at chess. (He was five when he won his first tournament…proud papa wanted to push him to grandmaster! LOL)
       
      Anyway, I hope you get the chance to do what you like and love what you do.
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       
       

  3. Clinical Trial
     
    I don’t know who pissed in your Cheerios, pal, but don’t you zoom in on your foul breeze, demanding service. Now, if you’ll just take that clipboard and fill in your information, the doctor will be with you in a bit.

    Sorry, what? How do I know the medical term for slick, creamy discharge? Oh, charming. That’s too much information, pal. I’m straight, too. What does that have to do with anything? You’re the one flying in here with a kink in your flow, hmm?

  4. Liss Thomas says:

     “Who is that?”  I asked.  Miss Loretta followed my gaze and smiled.
     
    “Why my dear, that young man flowing like a cool breeze through the southern pines is Mr. Shane Authur.  But don’t let the slick hair and creamy charm distract you from the one kink in his gentleman’s armor.  I hear he’s the kind of suitor that will fly you away with his uncanny wit and grace straight to your heart’s undoing before he zooms away to find another pretty young face to tempt.  He’ll probably ask you to dance, however, I would decline if I were you.  Besides, Mitchell Allen is watching.”
     
    I watched him approach and extend his hand to me.  I reached out but a clipped remark and another hand swooped me in the other direction.
     
    “Shall we dance?” Mitch asked.
     
     
     

  5. Rebecca says:

    Zoom! That’s how fast life can pass you by.
    It’s not always smooth and slick and won’t flow in a straight line.
    You’ll find a kink here and there that seems like a fly in your ointment.
    Instead of swatting at it, allow a cool breeze to carry it away from you.
    Be the good luck charm in your own life.
    Clip those beliefs, thoughts, people, places and situations that no longer serve you.
    Taste the creamy essence of your soul.

  6. Rebecca says:

    @ K … Thank you!


Leave a Reply

