Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #268

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.)

  1. Hero
  2. Score
  3. Box
  4. Ticket
  5. Eye
  6. Speed
  7. Pour
  8. Shadow
  9. Change
  10. Stop

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Resources you should check out:
Third Tribe Marketing: Marketing done the right way
Story Structure Demystified: Best damn writing book out there

71 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #268”

  1. Here is my poem for today’s challenge:

     
    Rise Up
    Be that hero for once
    pour the change
    stop the eye of shadow
    score one for the light
    this ticket box of life
    speed to act quickly
    a necessity right now
    time to rise up 

  2. Cathy Miller says:

    We create a hero from a score found in a little box. Our ticket to success has an eye on speed and power. We pour out emotions on the shadow of a chance that life will change and time will stop and watch.

  3. Shane Arthur says:

    Hey hero!

    Scoreboard chaser!

    Box office ticket star!

    Eye turner!

    Speed greeter!

    Expensive wine pourer!

    Shadow avoider!

    Change chameleon!

    Stop starring in bad movies.

  4. A secret life, a lone crusade
    A crushing debt to be repaid.
    The change in garb is not for show.
    An alter id –  we must not know.

    Because the eye, in shadow masked,
    Belays the lips before ’tis asked:
    How can that man, without a steed
    Scorch the grass with blazing speed?

    We marvel at – and we adore
    A man with strength and charm to pour.
    And yet we cringe in disbelief
    To see that power in high relief.

    We wonder how, we ponder why
    A music score lights up the sky,
    As fists ascend toward the air
    The hero vaults yon building clear!

    Above the ground, a sudden stop
    We gasp in awe, he does not drop!
    Across his breast, he drapes his cloak,
    The specter’s gone, a puff of smoke.

    The just among us need not fear
    A mighty box upon the ear.
    Word of warning to the wicked:
    He’ll swoop down and punch their ticket!

  5. Chris Fries says:

    Hello old friends!
     
    I see you’ve spruced the place up a bit — I like the new look!
     
    I thought I’d pop in and say hello and see what’s new with the CCC.  I hope Shane and everyone is doing wonderfully!
     
    I read today’s words and they led me to revive the 10×10 (ten lines of ten words, using the prompt words in order and in number position within each line):
     

    “The Hero’s Quest”
     
    Hero quests; visions of grandeur; dreams of fame and glory.

    A score of spectral enemies fall under imagined sword thrusts;

    an empty box his steed, a broken stick his lance.

    His punched one-way ticket to a far-away land of magic,

    is a blackened, swollen eye, and a broken child’s spirit.

    Drunken parent rages give God speed to frightened inner flight,

    Bruises left behind, brave deeds pour out of him

    like fire; blinding light that chases the shadow far away.

    But vanquished dragons and slain dark knights don’t change things;

    too soon real fists return, and the hero’s quests stop.
     
     
     

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Chris:

      Hero, that’s what my good buddy, Chris Frees, has been.
      I score it a pleasure whenever he decides to visit.
      Like a box of creativity, he scatters his words about.
      He’s like a ticket to a play date of words.
      Make sure that you eye everything this guy puts out.
      Read with wonder not with speed; you might miss something.
      The smallest drip can unleash a pour of hidden meaning.
      That brightens your day and smothers the shadows around you.
      Some things a man should never try to change within.
      If he decides to end these 10-for-10s, I’ll yell, “STOP!”

      Welcome back.

    • Wow, Chris, I was smiling when I started reading your poem – thinking of Calvin and Hobbes…
      That was quite a dark twist! You’ve gotten so good at the 10×10 that you can shape them to your will!
       
      🙂
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       
       

    • Cathy Miller says:

      @Chris-I love your 10 X 10! So creative! Good to have you back. 🙂

    • K says:

      Wow, that was cool! 

  6. Liss Thomas says:

    I’m no hero by any means but I cannot stop my quest.  Unimaginable beast stalk the shadows and the only way out is through them.  Speed is my ally and a machete, of course.  They come in droves and box me in, but I see their strategy and change my weapon to a very large gun.  I wipe my face and eyes of sweat as it pours down.  Charging ahead, I see a rope bridge, my ticket out but the creatures close in, increase in number, unrelenting.  Their sheer weight on the bridge rocks it.  I leap off, whip out the machete and sever the rope bridge.  Their terrible screams last only a second before I am free, saved.
     
    Trumpets blast.  Sweet!  New High Score!

  7. Cathy Miller says:

    @Liss-you got me-line, hook & sinker. 😀

  8. Jennifer says:

    I bought my ticket to see the hero pitcher pour his soul into the change up. His pitch speed dipped right before the plate, but could not fool the batter’s eye. Luckily the short stop was there to make a diving catch and prevent any change in the box score.

     

    • K says:

      Great shorty.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @Jennifer: Welcome to the CCC! That was awesome. Funny, I never thought to like these words to baseball, when the link was there the whole time. Fun read. Everyone welcome Jennifer to the addiction. (Every Monday and Thursday, btw).

      • Cathy Miller says:

        @Jennifer – Welcome to CCC!

        The written word is our hero. Our prose, a musical score. We never box words in what’s supposed to be, only in what will come.

        The admission ticket is free with an eye on the blessings we know. The high is better than synthetic speed as we pour our heart and soul into the shadow of doubt and change the stop-gap of all we know.

        Welcome!

    • Welcome to the CCC, Jennifer! That was a Crackerjack submission! Box score. Awesome.
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       
       

  9. K says:

    I wanted to post, but I got caught up in schoolwork and whatnot. Sorry if it doesn’t flow well.

    Eyeing everyone’s shadows gaining after me, I have no choice but to be vigilant. The speed the scores changes is similar to blinking; it will overturn before I know it.  They say the ticket to access to paradise comes with a simple price: passing the classes. As usual, competition follows with trying to achieve this prize. My mentors, however, didn’t care to explain the importance of this opposition. I am merely one person out of the millions of my country, and scraping by in class will not cut it. If I falter once, I lose momentum and will be thrusted several places back in rank. I want to please the people I love, but I desire to retain my originality. By conforming to these practices, I am gradually slipping away. This round world becomes a box. It is one that houses rote memorization and blocks out individuality.
     
    I steal a glance outside of the second floor window, watching as the rain pours and beats on the glass. I stop scrawling notes for a minute and admire the storm brewing in the atmosphere. A clap of thunder sounds, and half of the class jumps. The teacher ceases her pacing and ramblings only to begin a moment after without losing train of thought. I continue to stare at the streaks of tenebrous clouds darkening the skies and mute everything around me except for the rain. 
     
    Rain, I thought. It may not be as powerful as lightning, but I loved it all the more for that reason. Rain cannot harm us like lightning, but makes its presence known by hitting us or by using its voice. It has an impact as a hero would. Ever since young, I always thought I was the main character in my own story, and I would make a difference in this world, but I am irrelevant. High grades on my papers are the only marks of my significance. What use is a letter or number on a piece of paper? I want to be like rain, but I can’t emulate something without my own voice.

    • Shane Arthur says:

      @K:

      Sorry if it doesn’t flow well.

      If you say sorry one more time, I’m banning you from CCC. 😉 Seriously, that was damn good. Time for your to accept this fact. Write on.

    • K, this character’s perspective on school is very interesting. Is any of it autobiographical?
      I found that by, internalizing the inherent competitiveness of public schooling, I became self-motivated. Actually, I needed to, since nobody really pushed me – besides my teachers.
       
      Cheers,
       
      Mitch
       
       

    • Cathy Miller says:

      @K – some great lines here – these are a few of my favorite

      Eyeing everyone’s shadows gaining after me, I have no choice but to be vigilant 

      I continue to stare at the streaks of tenebrous clouds darkening the skies and mute everything around me except for the rain.  

      makes its presence known by hitting us or by using its voice.  

      Awesome.

       

  10. Rebecca says:

    Are you keeping score of your life wins and losses?
    It’s okay to want to be the hero in your life.
     
    If you pour your heart and soul into something, but keep your eye
    on it every day, you’ll create a paradigm and push it away. This is your shadow reminding you that you haven’t detached from the outcome.
     
    Instead of charging full speed ahead, slow down and stop.
    Buy a ticket to a big box office movie and chill out for a while.
    Or go outside and play. A change of scenery is good for your psyche and soul.

  11. Rebecca says:

    @ K… That was profound!

  12. Rebecca says:

    @ Mitch… Me too!

    @ Cathy… Thank you! Sometimes, I think about going back to school for a holistic psychology degree. I love studying the work of Alfred Adler, Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung.

     

  13. Briony Coote says:

    Theresa shot an anxious glance at the sky; those dark clouds had been casting an ominous shadow of a weather change all afternoon. Now the clouds finally burst and rain began pour with such ferocity that it looked like sheets of water that drenched everything and everyone in sight. Lightning flashes seemed to be everywhere, and rolls of thunder were so loud they almost drowned the roar of the traffic.

    “Huh! I’m still going, so sod the rain!” Theresa yanked her jacket and collar as tight as she could around herself. Then she proceeded to push her way through the rain-drenched streets with as much speed as she could muster, while keeping one eye on finding gaps through which to thread her way through the throng raincoats, umbrellas and traffic, and the other on her wrist watch. No rain was going to stop Theresa from seeing her pop star hero, Black Jack. Though it cost her all her month’s savings, she had managed to score a ticket to see him, and that was that. No true fan of Black Jack was going to let any stupid thing like rain stop them. 

    But:

    BLACK JACK CONCERT POSTPONED DUE TO BAD WEATHER. TICKET HOLDERS WILL BE INFORMED OF THE RESCHEDULED DATE FOR THE CONCERT AND ARE ADVISED TO RETAIN THEIR TICKETS. WE APOLOGISE FOR THE INCONVENIENCE.

    “Aarghh!” Theresa kicked a discarded KFC box against the wall and strode off for home, her face as stormy as the sky.


Leave a Reply

