Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #359

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.) NOTE: Our bolding plugin is gone, so you’ll have to put <b> and </b> around each of your words if you want them to stand out, but NOT REQUIRED THOUGH.

  1. Excavate
  2. Capital
  3. Request
  4. Terror
  5. Dividing
  6. Filed
  7. Presume
  8. Creating
  9. Depth
  10. Resignation

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

20 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #359”

  1. Anklebuster says:

    When the pillow threatens to suffocate you, do you excavate your head with a heart-rattling gasp? Or is the terror so great that you can do nothing more than stare into the depth of montages dividing sleep and death?

    Creating nightmares is not child’s play. Do not presume to understand subconscious symbolism. You will drown as easily in broad daylight as in the shadowy black pools of evil. Falling, flying or fornicating, no action is safe when unleashed within your febrile brain.

    Neither resistance nor resignation will save you from the rushing scenes of capital crimes, phobic paranoia and loss of muscular control. The bathroom vignettes are not a request from your bladder and the failing brakes are not mechanical.

    Tornadoes forming outside your window. Spiders crawling out of your teacup. Misshapen, pathetic little beggars clawing at your feet. These have been filed away in the nether region of your callous mind, ready to be retrieved at unsuspecting moments of troubled sleep.

    Together with naked running through unfamiliar streets, these megrims will plague you, night after night, until you confess!

  2. bbanne says:

    Until you confess… What a great way to end this tale, Mitch. You make us look inwards to see what we’re hiding from ourselves.

    “You will drown as easily in broad daylight as in the shadowy black pools of evil. ” I think that’s my favourite line. I relate to it as much as it gives me the shivers.

    Excellent work, as always.

  3. bbanne says:

    I admit it. I am out of my depth here. The kids run around creating havoc and leaving piles of mess behind them. I can’t walk from the kitchen to the bathroom without kicking a path through toys like Moses dividing the Red Sea.

    Venturing into my eldest child’s room is an exercise in terror. When I excavate the mounds of dirty socks and t-shirts tossed carelessly on the floor, I always find bowls with cereal dried and stuck like cement to their walls.

    Some days being a mother is worse than facing capital punishment. At least then you might be able to request a fast ending.

    I presume that one day they will grow up and change from the messy little terrorists they are at the moment but I’m pretty sure that science has filed that wish under the “Maybe” heading.

    I find myself sighing in resignation as I head back to the war zone that I call the kitchen, avoiding Lego pieces waiting like snipers for my bare feet to pass. It’s only 9am and already coffee isn’t enough!

  4. I listen to them all the time. They never leave me be. I like to label them as A and B. A is always the caring, nice, compassionate one, always advising me to forget about my own case and help others out. I presume that if everyone listened to their A, the world would be a better place…

    B, on the other hand, is very reasonable, practical and self-driven. He is always right, of course but that doesn’t make him nice. He always gives more and more reasons and evidence until he sees A’s resignation and my submission. That’s always the case, he never gives up.

    B may be always right, but the consequences of listening to him led to that catastrophical day of terror… I don’t want to write it down, but I will have to, as this will help them find the truth after I am gone. I feel that I will be gone soon as A and B are fighting more than ever tonight and I feel that A will win. The first time he wins is going to be the last time they fight, I know it.

    It was the wrong time for him to call, and it only gave B more reasons to make me do it. It’s been a lifetime of suffering because of him – bulling, blackmailing, abuse. And this last time was more than enough to give B all the power he needed. So he made me do it. I think the knife won’t be found, I made sure it will sink to a good depth. I didn’t have much time for the body, though – they will find it sooner or later, and then I am done.

    They called and made an official request for me to go and testify. Somebody obviously knew that I was one of his victims and, therefore, one of the main suspects. Even B can’t deny that if I go tomorrow, I am done. Pity that our state still applies capital punishment. If I lived somewhere else, I might have stood chances. And that’s A’s main argument. “Do it now and get done with it – just do it in a way that no one will understand. They will think that you have disappeared, no one will ever relate it to you! You won’t have to see your mother’s eyes before they kill you. What will her eyes say? My son is a murderer…”

    A’s right. And I know exactly how to do it. I won’t give them the opportunity to have my testimony filed in and preserved for the centuries. Instead, I will preserve my body for the centuries – that’s better. Maybe after a thousand year I will help a scientist or an archaeologist prove their theory. They will just have to excavate the place and find me, I think my body’s good enough to offer some research material…

    Okay, let’s get going. A’s won this time and I’d better do it before dawn. I will just write one last thing… Don’t let them control you. Stop listening to your As and Bs. They are always up for creating a new fight, a new argument, something they can both participate in while you sit and listen. While you try to take the right decision. While you lose yourself and your opinion, adopting their selves and their opinions.

    Well, farewell. And don’t forget my story. I lost my life because of the dividing power of the voices in my head. Becase of A, and because of B. Don’t let this happen to you.

  5. Cathy Miller says:

    The earth gaped in silent horror as the crew began to excavate the remains. An act as abhorrent as the capital request that put them there.

    What terror lurked beneath nature’s wrap? Dividing death from life, soul from flesh. Filed in a wooden box.

    How dare they presume all was safe, here in the darkening gloom. Fog snaked a sinuous path over tombstone and grass. Creeping ever closer. Creating an eerie response to the clang of shovel striking stone.

    Silently it circled its gray tentacles around the legs of human form. Rooting its deepening hold into the bowels of the unknown, it released its force to capture its prey.

    Maniacal laughter smothered screams of despair as it dragged body and soul to the depth of hell with doomed resignation. Just as silently, the fog slipped away as a late harvest moon extinguished the light on Halloween past.

    Bu-wa-ha-ha… ☺

  6. annew says:

    It was with resignation I excavated to depth of my soul and filed a report on the missing capital. I presumed others would feel the terror and request, nay demand, more information, only creating dividing us even more.

    • annew says:

      How do you bold? an ampersign obviously isn’t it and there’s no editing function any more.

      • bbanne says:

        Hi Anne. Yes, the bold is a pain which is why we don’t insist on people using it. At the moment we do it manually by adding in front of the word and after it. We are looking for a solutions.

        Thanks for joining us. It is a pleasure to have you visit us again.:)

    • bbanne says:

      It took me many sentences to make sense of the 10 words and here you are, fitting them logically into one little paragraph. Well done.


Leave a Reply

