Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #367

*I want to wish you all a very merry Christmas. Enjoy yourselves and stay safe and happy.  There will be no challenge next week.  See you back here on 6 January. Anne*

 

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.) NOTE: Our bolding plugin is gone, so you’ll have to put <b> and </b> around each of your words if you want them to stand out, but NOT REQUIRED THOUGH.

  1. Tree
  2. Tinsel
  3. Carol
  4. Bauble
  5. Unwrap
  6. Emotional
  7. Santa
  8. Dream
  9. Wishing
  10. Happy

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

38 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #367”

  1. kathleenMK says:

    He held a bauble in his trembling hands. I think Carol will like it.
    Sam had been dreaming about giving this family heirloom to her for some time now. His eyes burned with the beginning of tears. Why am I so emotional? He questioned himself.

    It is because you are happy, Santa said.

    Now grab a strand of tinsel off of the tree. Go ahead, unwrap it from the branch.

    Wishing Sam would hurry would not move him any faster.

    He hesitated. “But what if she says no?”

    “She’s been wishing to unwrap this type of gift since she was fresh out of college. She always wanted to see it sitting on a tree branch, encircled with tinsel. She’s been wanting this since before she moved out of Santa Ana, California.” She thought moving to Happy Street would help, then she tried North Pole Lane, in Christmas Towne.

    “What if she is not ready?”

    “She’s been emotionally ready to have her dreams come true she could write her own Christmas Carols,” he tried to sound reassuring as time was of the essences as Christmas Eve was getting long in the tooth.

    “Okay.” He took a strand of spangled threading into his fingers. No I better use two. I don’t want it to fall off and get lost on the floor.

    That’s it, run the strands through the circle. Yes. “Now tie that on top of that frond.”
    Satisfied with his securing techniques, he turned smiled and whispered, “thank you.”

    The next morning the camera captured her singing, “I could go bob bob baubling all the way….” As she walked up to inspect Yuletide Pine. Like she had done for ten years before. “All the way to the alter if I just had…” the glint of the intermittent blinking lights reflected off the faceted surface.

    • Anklebuster says:

      Kathleen that is cute. It is much more creative than sky-writing and safer than shoving it into the figgy pudding! LOL

      Cheers,

      Mitch

    • Chris Fries says:

      Really, really nice! I like the alpha order in and then the reverse order back out!

      Hope your holidays are/were wonderful!

      • kathleenMK says:

        Chris ~~ Thank you, it was fun and a challenge within the challenge. And since I am recently, officially, engaged (since the ring makes it all official – right)… I guess my mind was locked in on an attempt at a happy pre-holiday setting. And with my mother-in-law to-be up to my house for the first time … and the joys of watching her watch her son being a relaxed man about the house… the holidays played well here with my warped mind.

        Kathleen

    • bbanne says:

      Kathleen, that is a lovely story. Beautifully written. I would never have picked up the alphabetised arrangement if you hadn’t mentioned it. Everything is seamless.

      • kathleenMK says:

        Thank you Miss Anne!
        It was fun to write. “seamless” wow… I sit here blushing.
        I was in a funk (Iffy mood) and needed to cause forced focus… the alpha forward and back helped me. Thanks you for the help!

        P.S. had the opportunity to mention the CCC on LinkedIn … inviting many. Here’s to hoping it brings others for the new year!

    • bbanne says:

      Well, the tree is finally up. It might be the day before Christmas, but I just couldn’t let the season go by without the gaudy, bauble-spattered tree propping up the corner of the room. Sadly, 3 cats climbing a plastic tree hasn’t done a lot of good to the branches. Where they once held themselves out proud and strong, now the branches drooped and sagged. The whole shape looked thin and dispirited. At least the sight should give Santa a good belly laugh if he decides to drop by.

      Humming parts of a long forgotten Christmas carol, I wind tinsel around the branches. Even the decorations are looking a bit worn, this year – cat chewed! I must remember to buy some more at the post-Christmas sales.

      And now for the lights. This is where I get a bit emotional. When the kids were little we would decorate the tree together and adding the lights was the final touch. But we would never turn them on. Instead, we would wait for Dad to get home from work and then we’d have our special tree lighting ceremony. In reality it was just the simple flick of a power switch, but the build-up was beautiful.

      Sometimes I dream of those days, when the kids were young enough to believe in Santa, and enjoyed every little detail of Christmas. I remember them waking at the crack of dawn, ready to find and unwrap the goodies that Santa had left for them. Now I’m lucky to prise them out of bed at any time before noon. Teenagers!

      Still, no point wishing for things which can’t be. I’m happy that they are here and willing to be part of our family event.

      I flick the power switch and the lights burst into life.

      You know, it might be a bit of a sorry sight, but it still means Christmas to me. Merry Christmas, world.

  2. Anklebuster says:

    Santa awoke from an emotional dream, in which a green, furry creature ruined the happy holiday for all the little boys and girls. He shook the sleep from his eyes and peered through his omniscope, smiling with relief as excited children began to unwrap toy trucks, dolls, ovens and footballs.

    The Grinch awoke from a pleasant dream where every child played with a lump of coal while, in the streets, insults replaced well-wishing and carol singing. He shook the sleep from his eyes as his side-kick lifted his leg and peed on the sad little Christmas tree set up in the corner.

    “How’d that tree get in here, you? The Grinch stormed over to the tree and, unmindful of the puddle, snatched at the tinsel that wound only part-way up through the pine needles. The silver strand refused to budge. Instead, the whole tree fell upon the Grinch, knocking him senseless.

    Santa chuckled. The little bauble he’d given to Max the night before ensured that, once again, the Grinch would not steal Christmas.

    Happy Holidays, CCCer’s!

  3. Chris Fries says:

    WOW!!! The CCC is alive again?!?!

    How cool!

    I haven’t been here in a long time, but this evening, I decided to randomly click on an old link and discovered NEW prompts and posts!

    Well, of course I have to take part! Here’s a quick revival of my old 10×10 form (10 lines x 10 words, with the prompt words used in order and in the correct position within each line):

    =====

    Tree decorated, lights lit, and yet Christmas doesn’t feel right.

    Shiny Tinsel all around, I’m still wide awake this night.

    Singing a carol, some internet shopping might do the trick.

    Looking for a bauble, on a wild whim I click

    an old link, and unwrap a present from the past!

    And I get happy and emotional, with a joyful blast.

    This year I have to say Santa really came through:

    Having the CCC alive again is a dream come true!

    I’m really thrilled you’re back, and now I’m wishing sappy;

    ‘Cause I wish that your holidays are warm and happy!

    =====

    Great to see you back! I’ll be back, too!

    Chris

    • kathleenMK says:

      Chris~~ this was a wonderful reappearance!
      I do remember your in line ditties… 🙂 I look forward to seeing more.

      And you are right… the CCC is a wonderful resurgence in our lives!

      Kathleen

    • Anklebuster says:

      Hey, ol’ buddy! Nice to see you and ten by ten again!

      Welcome back and Happy Holidays!

      Cheers,

      Mitch

      • kathleenMK says:

        Why Mitch… yes I did.
        I guess it’s time to let you know, as you have been “with me” for a while… my would-be daughter-in-law’s survival story was produced by the Lifeftime Movie Channel for the show “I Survived” and it aired 12/12/2014! (Amanda). She is inspiring many now, not just me.

        And I used some of the current CCC Ditties to kick-off Amanda’s story… you’ve been reading it. “Her Escape and More” and I turned it in to a Short Story Contest — Well, at least the first chapter.

        There… now you are all caught up… for now.

        Signed affectionately by Miss Kathleen, the engaged lady who is lucky enough to be put back in life with a man she has loved since she was … about 20 and the California National Guard Army Major and I will wed…. later, but I will let you know my friend!

        Kathleen

        • Anklebuster says:

          Kathleen, thanks so much for sharing. I am happy for you and take much courage in your strength and resilience.

          Happy New Year!

          Mitch

        • bbanne says:

          I think people use the word “inspiring” too lightly these days, but I can honestly say it applies well to you.

          • kathleenMK says:

            Wow… Anne… I am stunned right now. I come from a line of strong women and men. Thank you. You compliment me in a way… well, in a way I think of my surviving daughter-in-law who was brave enough to tell her story “so others may live”. (Humm there is a title there!)

            May the strength I am given from above let others know they too can survive. Yes ma’am. Kathleen

    • bbanne says:

      Welcome back to CCC, Chris. I love the way you’ve used the words and I’m thrilled that you took that random click right at this time of year.

  4. Lala says:

    Hello everyone. I’m new to this site and my creative writing side is very rusty. I put the below together before reading the other posts and was wowed by your challenge response. Nonetheless, Below is my post…I’m hoping to improve my writing and am hoping to revive my creative abilities. My apologies in advance, I was not able to bold the words needed for the challenge:

    The post Christmas cleanup can be emotional since taking down the tree can signify so much more. As I removed the tinsel and ornaments that I have collected and stored for over a decade I became nostalgic about the period in which these items were purchased. For some, these decorations may appear to be bauble items, but for me they have more of a personal significance, because each ornament is connected to a history of many memories that provoke so many emotions, such as my Santa Clause decor that reminds me of my older adolescent cousins hiding to dress up as St. Nick and the elves so they could pass out our Christmas gifts when I was six years old, or the ornament of the baby Jesus surrounded by the three wise men that makes me flashback to memories of a mountain stack of Christmas gifts waiting to be unwrapped by a crowd of overly excited children on the three wise men holiday. The Carolers ornament makes me remember the time all my cousins and myself decided to carol around a predominately Hispanic neighborhood at 10 PM, that resulted in an audience that was not necessarily excited to hear a group of kids singing out of tune and prescribing to their own interpretation of each Christmas song they chanted. The caroling only lasted 15 minutes, the time it took for the neighbors to complain to our parents and for our parents to find us and drag us back into my grandmother’s home. The memories created in my childhood about Christmas has left me dreaming of participating in the Christmas festivities as the season draws close and wishing that the Christmas season would last longer as I take down each ornament….oh what happy times.

    • bbanne says:

      Hi Lala and welcome. I really enjoyed your story and I can feel the emotions you were feeling. I love it when objects bring back memories and at Christmas, it’s even more special. Thank you for joining us and I hope you’ll be back for more.

    • Anklebuster says:

      Welcome to the CCC, Lala! Your story helped me to remember some of my own fond traditions. Well done!

      Cheers,

      Mitch

    • kathleenMK says:

      Hello Miss Lala, Welcome to the fold. WARNing this is an addiction I choose to not seek a cure of 🙂 you may well become infected (ppppsssttt – I hope so).

      Nice ditty, by the way. I not only enjoyed reading it, you started memories floating in my mind as well. Thank you.

      I look forward to seeing more of your writings.

      Kathleen

  5. Lisa says:

    I carefully begin to pack away the tinsel and baubles. Having dismantled the fake tree, I boxed it away for another year.

    Nostalgia hits as I recall the 10-foot glorious trees we used to bring home every year. The smell of pine would waft through the house, sweetening the season. Those years were like a dream, when family and friends would be present with us to see our toddler unwrap his gifts from Santa. Every tiny piece of wrapping paper was majestic through his eyes. My husband always started Christmas morning with carols playing softly in the background. Those were happy days; another time, another place.

    I stop packing and stare out into the night. The moon beckons and the snow taps gently at the window. Together, they blanket everything outside in clean white cool purity. My soul aches for those days when it seemed like all was going to be made right; when it seemed like all the wishing prayers I prattled off as a child were fulfilled.

    Sighing, I turn back to the task at hand. So many memories attached to each ornament. My mother-in-law gave this one to me. I remember unwrapping it and thinking how fragile it was, just like I was when she and her family began loving me. I remember the emotional pain of unpacking each of these ornaments after she died.

    The well-loved decoration slips out of my grasp and shatters. Hundreds of glass shards lay upon the floor, whispering loss as light glints off the broken pieces.

    Once things are broken, they are never the same again.

    • Lisa says:

      Dang it, I miss the edit feature.

      Those years were like a dream, when family and friends would be present with us to see our toddler unwrap his gifts from Santa.

  6. […] This writing prompt comes from Creative Copy Challenge. […]


Leave a Reply

