Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #381

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.) NOTE: Our bolding plugin is gone, so you’ll have to put <b> and </b> around each of your words if you want them to stand out, but NOT REQUIRED THOUGH.

  1. Tactile
  2. Bonding
  3. Vertical
  4. Rugged
  5. Extending
  6. Inflamed
  7. Stubble
  8. Flickered
  9. Roof
  10. Social

NOTE: Don’t copy and paste from MS Word. Use a program like notepad that removes formatting or just type in the comment field itself. Also, finish your submission, THEN bold the words. Thanks. (And don’t forget to tweet this and share it with your friends.)

9 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #381”

  1. Anklebuster says:

    The fluorescent bulb flickered just as I initiated a vertical swipe of the razor. The ill-timed distraction gave my reflection a startling image. Instead of three day-old stubble peering out at me, the rugged visage of a crazed maniac gaped back. The likeness was too much: I blacked out.

    Four days Earlier
    “Jim—can I call you ‘Jim’? You need to step away from the edge of the roof.” I was employing Bonding 101, extending my empathy into the jumper’s personal space. The intrusion was supposed to shock him back into reality. All I managed to do was piss him off.

    “Shut up! Shut Up! SHUT UP!” The inflamed crescendo assured me that I was not getting through.

    Okay, jumper clearly presented as a social Neanderthal. Time for tactile engagement. I rushed the fool and tackled him onto the gritty rooftop. I tied him up and left him for the real cops to deal with.

    I went back to my apartment, wishing I had never glanced across the alley in the first place. I grabbed my cold coffee and took another sip. Netflix had long since timed out. I reloaded the latest episode of Flashpoint and zapped my coffee for thirty seconds.

    The world does not need another super-hero.

  2. The tactile bonding replaced all they could not see.

    The vertical leap into rugged terrain left them gasping for breath.

    Extending inflamed arms over a field of stubble.

    Kissed by a setting sun as it flickered into darkness.

    The roof of social despair crashing into the night.

    • Anklebuster says:

      Cathy, this is thought-provoking. I have what is probably an off-base perception of this poetic inscription, but it leaves me with a sense of wonder about folks who trade keyboards for backyard fences… 🙂

      Thanks for creating a mind-bending image.

      Cheers,

      Mitch

  3. @ Mitch and Cathy, Dammit! I won’t say it, but you know the drill. These words I constantly read from you both deserve to unleash the joy of reading and the wonders of imagined worlds for young and old readers alike everywhere. That is all.


Leave a Reply

