Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #420

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.) NOTE: Our bolding plugin is gone, so you’ll have to put <b> before and </b> after each of your challenge words if you want them to stand out, but NOT REQUIRED THOUGH!

  1. Farewell
  2. Good-bye
  3. Good
  4. By
  5. Hello
  6. Aloha
  7. Adieu
  8. Final
  9. Penning
  10. Reward
3 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #420”

  1. Anklebuster says:

    The Apocalypse sucks. Here I was, penning my final missive to my minions. No sooner had I written, “Y’all can kiss my” than a locust landed with a splat on my stationery, spoiling my terse farewell.

    Hello! What was the meaning of this? I gingerly crumpled the ruined page and tossed it on the floor. I could hear other squishy sounds, as locusts rained throughout the office. By now, I’d made the cognitive leap.

    “Well, I’ll be damned,” I muttered aloud. As soon as I said that, the floor opened up and swallowed me whole. I fell through an indescribably hot portal and landed on a pee-stained mattress.

    “Yes, you are, actually. Aloha and welcome to your eternal reward.” The speaker was a rather beautiful, brown voluptuous woman with green spikes growing out her head.

    “Are you Satan?”

    “No. I’m very indecisive.”

    “What? Oh, ha-ha. You’re hearing-impaired, too. I said, ‘Satan’, not ‘certain’.”

    “I know what you said, loser! I just respond to everything randomly.”

    “Well, where am I?”

    “Where the hell do you think you are?”

    “I didn’t get a chance to say ‘good-bye‘ to my loved ones.”

    “Oh, they’ll be along, shortly. There will be plenty of time for bidding adieu and that.”

    “Oh, god, you’re British?”

    “No, but the Holland tunnel runs through that nasty New York, so there’s that.”

    “That is the second time you’ve finished a sentence with the word ‘that’.”

    “Why are you still lying on that pissy tick? You might want to get up from that.”

    I got up. My head was spinning. This she-devil was speaking in riddles: mattress, tick, might, mite. Being British, was she taking the piss? I wanted to ask, but who knew what random gibberish would erupt from her luscious lips?

    “No, it’s because the blood was pooled in your legs.”

    Oh god, she could read minds, too. Well, two can play that game!

    Good. We finally understand each other.”

  2. Meg says:

    The run for the roses no longer
    Brings rejoicing the
    Welcoming of spring days hats
    Mint julips, family bickering wagering
    Only a melancholy longing for the time
    That was before farewell to lost memories
    And wishing for one more race of seconds
    To watch together.
    Horses till run.
    Seeds are still planted.
    But without the glue of the past, the
    Present just
    Drifts.

  3. Meg says:

    oops wrong words the last prompt


Leave a Reply

