Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #422

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.) NOTE: Our bolding plugin is gone, so you’ll have to put <b> before and </b> after each of your challenge words if you want them to stand out, but NOT REQUIRED THOUGH!

  1. S’agapo
  2. Agapi
  3. Cupid
  4. Infatuation
  5. Blush
  6. Pounding
  7. Beating
  8. Languish
  9. Dream
  10. Band

 

9 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #422”

  1. Norfaryanti Kamaruddin says:

    Anna is my cousin who loves to learn new languages. She will enthusiastically tell me the new words that she just learnt. Last night she was here for a family gathering. The first word she said “S’agapo cousin!” while kissed me on the cheek and while wrapping a band of ribbon on a gift box. I was holding a vase of languished plant that meant to be discarded. I had no idea of what she just said. She laughed. “That is ‘I love you’ in Greek” she continued. She sat next to me and went on “I just learned it this morning. It sounds funny at first. Do you know what ‘agapi’ means?” she asked. I shook my head. She started to explain the words austerely. I was imagining the image of Cupid and associate it with my infatuation with my favourite hero from Divergent movie, Theo James. “Hey, you blush!” Anna laughed while pinching my cheeks. My heart was pounding and beating fast. We were laughing so loudly. I always dream of having someone who truly understands you. Anna is more than a cousin to me.

  2. Anklebuster says:

    “Therefore, whether we languish in lust or ascend to agape, our chosen expressions of love span the spectrum of emotion.”

    Professor Wilton was getting wound up. Valentine’s Day was his least favorite day of the year. His family ignored him—which wouldn’t have been so bad, had they not also made a point to lavish each other with cards, candy and flowers. Despite his distaste for the crass commercial exploitation, he chose this day to make his annual “Love Lecture.”

    Stacy raised her hand. Without waiting to be acknowledged, she challenged him with a hearty epithet. Professor Wilton spun around to face her.

    “Do you kiss your mother with that mouth, young lady? Surely, someone of your intellectual stature can do better than that. Perhaps, in some Freudian fashion, you wish to express your affinity for bestiality?”

    Stacy, a blush clouding her features, retorted, “Just because I wouldn’t let you sleep with me doesn’t give you the right to deflect. Your pompous, meaningless speech, has nothing to do with Cupid and would have been more accurate had you referenced Eros. After all, s’gapo is Greek. And, for your information, pounding pelvises does not count as an erotic interlude!”

    Professor Wilton did not rise to the bait. “Dear girl, are you delusional, as well? Your infatuation is quite stifling. If you can’t control your beating heart, how can you hope to tame the classics?”

    As Stacy sputtered angrily, he drove home the final nail:

    “This isn’t Kids Incorporated and you’re wasting your time if you think anyone is going to follow your dream and join that pathetic little band.

    Stacy stamped her foot, “Shut up. Just shut up. Shut up.”

    • KathleenMK says:

      Mitch ~~
      “Do you kiss your mother with that mouth, young lady?…” I have always loved this phrase and you used it brilliantly, I am still laughing!

      Hummm I have never thought of a “blush” to “cloud [someone’s] features”, humm.

      AAAWWWwwweeeee this is wonderful. Thank you for the enjoyable read that my mind will reference many times today for a revisit of the chuckling.

      Happy Valentines Day!
      Kathleen

  3. Meg says:

    S’agapo

    In words that need no translation, love is not spoken.
    I say agapi, You say no I have no grapes.
    I do not see Cupid pounding away with his broken arrows.
    I blush at languishing infatuation.
    I dream at leading the band beating at air drums.
    But in the end twisted words remain and
    I
    Am
    Still
    Alone


Leave a Reply

