Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #483

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.) NOTE: Our bolding plugin is gone, so you’ll have to put before and after each of your challenge words if you want them to stand out, but NOT REQUIRED THOUGH! Or, as cleverly done by a CCC-er you can CAPITALIZE the challenge words in your piece.

I am beginning to invite others to be the author of a week’s list of words, that means you too! All you have to do is email me at TheHandMaiden_Kathleen@hotmail.com

  1. Lent
  2. Fat Tuesday
  3. Carnival
  4. Fast
  5. The Last Supper
  6. The Passion
  7. Tomb
  8. Egg
  9. Bunnies
  10. Glee
7 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #483”

  1. Anklebuster says:

    I lent my slippers to my girlfriend because, when she saw me with them at the last supper, she fell in love with the bunnies. She’d howled with glee as I recounted how I had won them at the carnival by balancing an egg on my head and walking fast.

    To show her appreciation, she invited me to spend Fat Tuesday night in her warm tomb. I’ll tell you, the passion made me a true believer!

  2. Cathy Miller says:

    The black sky suffocated the night into silence. Stars were snuffed out in a plan so sinister, it sent wildlife scurrying for the cover of a hidden source. What lurked here? What evil lent its cloak of darkness, begging sinners to be shriven before the true God to their Fat Tuesday?

    No carnival awaits here. Only those who fast in forced penance. Far removed from their last supper and the passion of the life they once knew. What tomb is this? A donor egg of its own making. Luring prey with the innocence of playful bunnies turned skeletal in nightmarish remains.

    The master smiling with gargantuan glee. Blackness is his playground. Silence, his crescendo to destiny.

  3. KathleenMK says:

    Hi all. I hope you had a Happy Easter! Sorry for being a bit late to the table, but nonetheless, I am glad to have shown up:

    “On Fat Tuesday … do peoples eat the last supper they are ever gonna have?” Travis asks Bubba as they carry the cage full of hares to the shed. “Is dat whys I shoulda not give momma those rabbits?”

    “I sees you’ve got the passion ter get dis down sos Ima gonna tries to ‘splain it to yah. Fast too, ‘cuz you gonna put me in dah nuthouse with all deeess questions,” Bubba’s patience with the boy runs short sometimes, especially when they have chores to do.

    After Bubby spends a few more minutes repeating himself, slower this time, Travis responds, “Lent me get dis righ’ … the carnival is where we get the bunnies that the Glee Club’s a tryin’ to raffle off and I can’t knock none of them on de ‘ead? We can’t have none of ‘em for supper, even thou the last supper I ett were two nights ‘go… you know, ‘fore you scolded me for brinin’ in those rabbits in from der shed … ‘cuz they were sis’?”

    Bubba nodded.

    “Those darn rabbits, were jus’ sittin’ there. Sis never said nothin’ like ‘don’t touch the bunnies I caught this week’, oh no she just left ‘em there unattended like an’ all. But she sure did like how they tasted in that stew momma made up. Heck we all did,” Travis said shaking his head in disbelief that he got in trouble for presenting the rabbits for his momma to cook up for supper. “Momma was so happy I brought her all them there rabbits to add to the turnip stew.”

    Bubba looks skyward, “Oh goodness Lord, you thinks he’s got all his dern eggs in one basket yet? Or am I gonna have to teach him more… ‘cuz Lord, if he can’t get dis how is ‘e ever gonna learn himself where the Tomb’s river is?”

    Bubba’s own learnin’ has fallen short, now and again – even though he’s unaware of it.


Leave a Reply

