Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #492

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.) NOTE: Our bolding plugin is gone, so you’ll have to put before and after each of your challenge words if you want them to stand out, but NOT REQUIRED THOUGH! Or, as cleverly done by a CCC-er you can CAPITALIZE the challenge words in your piece.

I am beginning to invite others to be the author of a week’s list of words, that means you too! All you have to do is email me at TheHandMaiden_Kathleen@hotmail.com

  1. Journals
  2. Insert
  3. Design
  4. Layout
  5. References
  6. Find
  7. Replace
  8. Select
  9. Paste
  10. Clipboard
9 Comments on “Writing Prompts – Creative Copy Challenge #492”

  1. Anklebuster says:

    Ah, crap! No sooner had the little monsters debarked than little Timmy wandered off. Troop Leader Jones gave me fifteen minutes to find the rascal, before he’d replace my summer job description on his clipboard. And, that would never do. I’d quit before I let him paste that horrid broom and axe crossbones sticker on my shirt.

    Without the requisite references that my wealthy peers had used to their advantage, it had taken me three summers to advance from latrines, to groundskeeper to junior counselor. No way Timmy, or anybody else in this mosquito-infested swamp was going to screw up my chance at one of the private rooms with air-conditioning.

    “Timmy! Oh, Timmy!” I had to start somewhere. If he were in earshot, he didn’t let on. I considered the layout of the campgrounds. Veterans, of course, knew to avoid the western trail, so I headed off in that direction. Meanwhile, 79 other scabby runts ran around the grownups, resisting all efforts to be lined up like lemmings and marched toward the three cabins.

    Though I heartily disparaged this dump at every opportunity, in truth, Camp Gwaqqamoley (yes, that is the name!) was a marvel of xeriscaped design in the middle of the Great Basin Desert. The architects made full use of the varied terrain, vegetation and natural thermal inversions to harness what little water wasn’t lost to evaporation. I admired how they were able to insert a swamp to attract the nearby beavers who, in turn, terraformed the transplanted junipers into a survivalist’s wet dream (oops, sorry!)

    I suspected that Timmy had made a beeline for the obstacle course, as that was all he would write about in his journals. Also, this is why Troop Leader Jones felt he had to select me for the job: I was the groundskeeper for this area last summer!

    “Timmeeeeee!” Five minutes left…long-forgotten, phantom blisters began to sting my sweaty fingers.

  2. AA Handa says:

    The days when JOURNALS came with INSERTS were long gone. Now distributed digitally, the aromas, the envelopes, ‘those little extras’ as her editor was fond of calling them were a DESIGN artifact, like the facing-page LAYOUT, she used to love making every issue. The REFERENCES she could FIND to such features were fewer and fewer. Increasingly, she found herself longing for her analogue past. She was sick of the constant accelerated need to REPLACE everything, to SELECT the newer, the shinier, to cut out the old and PASTE in the new copied from a virtual CLIPBOARD bursting at imagined seams with tonnes and tonnes of pablum.

    • Anklebuster says:

      AA, I am enjoying the fresh voice you bring to these pages. I am of an age where the references have nostalgic effect on me…wistful. I love when writing evokes emotions like yours do.

      Cheers,

      Mitch

    • KathleenMK says:

      AA – it is nice to see I am not alone. Even as I type on these keys I know how much I miss reading in-hand books and writing notes on paper with a pen or pencil.

      Write On,

      Kathleen

  3. AA Handa says:

    Nice set-up Anklebuster…love how we don’t know the gender or the age of the narrator.


Leave a Reply

