Writing Prompt – Creative Copy Challenge #500

This is a writing prompt. Bet you can’t do it! Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field, highlight your words and click the bold button to make them stand out and help you determine if you forgot any words. (If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, we BET YOU CAN’T do those, either.) NOTE: Our bolding plugin is gone, so you’ll have to put before and after each of your challenge words if you want them to stand out, but NOT REQUIRED THOUGH! Or, as cleverly done by a CCC-er you can CAPITALIZE the challenge words in your piece.

I am beginning to invite others to be the author of a week’s list of words, that means you too! All you have to do is email me at TheHandMaiden_Kathleen@hotmail.com

  1. Lottery
  2. Power
  3. Ball
  4. Windfall
  5. Emotion
  6. Whirlwind
  7. Life
  8. Altering
  9. Air
  10. Gas
14 Comments on “Writing Prompt – Creative Copy Challenge #500”

  1. “Hey Billy! We’z 500 today. I’z feelin’ a whirlwind of explosive emotions escaping me rat now, like I done windfalled dat cash-4-life lottery.”

    “Bobby, you sure dat ain’t just excitement bubbles from you power-eatin dem bull balls that be alterin’ and escaping your airpipe?”

    “I gas so, Billy, but I just can’t tail.”

    “““““““““““““

    I’d like to give a shout out to all the CCC family who has ever done one of these challenges. I’ll never forget you guys. What a ride this had been.

    Write on!

    • Anklebuster says:

      Woot!

      Howdy, Shane. Happy 500th!

      Cheers,

      Mitch

    • Shane, Shane, Shane!
      It is so good to see you. I am hoping all is well with you and the family!

      I remember when we were in the 30s! :]

      I am so glad I found the CCC family when I did. Glad you can stop in and ride along now and again!

      Kathleen

      • @Kaathleen, thanks for doing what you do. What a wonderful ride this has been. Pretty soon my kids will be old enough, and when they are, I’m going to have them do each of the challenges starting with #1. What a great way to get them into creative writing.

        • KathleenMK says:

          Shane! This is such a great idea!
          I think the genes may have already gotten them into the Creative Writing pool… they just don’t know it yet!

          And it’s been a wonderful ride. I am lovin’ it all of the way.

          Kathleen

  2. Tanja Cilia says:

    It was a life-altering factor, my winning the power-ball lottery. The unexpected windfall was a whirlwind of emotion… a dose of megabucks gas-and-air I sorely needed when giving birth to my new undercover existence.

  3. Tanja Cilia says:

    1. Filch

    2. Flak

    3. Flake

    4. Flame

    5. Flee

    6. Flick

    7. Flinch

    8. Fling

    9. Flow

    10. Fluke

    Tanja Cilia

    ________________________________

  4. Anklebuster says:

    “The swirling rocks made windfall at 1600 hours. Blimps and balloons were pummeled to dust. The only survivors were the air and the gas. With no purpose remaining, the igneous whirlwind lost its life.”

    Johnny looked up from the statement. His eyes filled with emotion. As he choked back a sob, he continued:

    “This was the last thing my little sister wrote before she succumbed to the wrecking ball of the Massachusetts State Lottery. When she frittered away the mortgage money, her husband shot her, altering our lives forever.”

    He glared at the reporters, angrily wiped away a tear and declared that he would do everything in his power to bring about the legislation to end gambling in the state.


Leave a Reply

