Writing Prompt ~ Creative Copy Challenge #504

With the change of seasons on our heels I have chosen to give us a photo.

IMG_0060
(c) Kathleen Kline 10.1.2017

Here is the challenge: Crush writer’s block by creating a cohesive, creative short story that is inspired by this photo! And remember: after (if) you finish entering your submission into the comment field below.

Happy Writing,
Kathleen

19 Comments on “Writing Prompt ~ Creative Copy Challenge #504”

  1. Anklebuster says:

    “You were right, we should have spent more time building a bonfire.” Jack walked away despondently, while Jill watched the receding ships. He hated when his sister had better ideas than he did. To make matters worse, he was afraid to climb that hill.

    There were worse things than running barefoot on an uncharted island.

  2. jenneralen says:

    Channel

    The tide churns inside of me, flowing outward, roiling and hissing along my barren walls.

    I am left empty, laid bare, reduced to featurelessness by its passing.

    The busy-ness of low tide scuttles in. Creatures take up temporary residence. Housekeeping is done in every nook and cranny, until I no longer resemble my former self.

    I teem with life.

    The waves come in. I hold onto that life for as long as I can, but the pull of the water is inexorable. Excoriable,

    The tide churns inside of me, flowing outward, roiling and hissing along my barren walls.

    I wipe the blood from my thighs and ball the sheets to soak them in the tub once more.

    And once more, I am left empty, laid bare, reduced to featurelessness by its passing.

  3. “Hey Billy! Someone done stolt all our words. They was right here on this here cliff, but now alls I sees is these here red laughers.”

    “Bobby, they’s not laughers; they’s loafers.”

    “Awe Shoo! I knew dat!”

  4. KathleenMK says:

    “Momma, someone left their red shoes? Why would someone leave their shoes here?” the youngster asked his mum.

    “Maybe because he has a broken heart and while he liked his red shoes, shoes his mum and dad helped him pick out – so much that he did not want to get them cluttered with sand – he put them up on these rocks before he walked out into the surf. Out into the surf to look for the mermaid of his dreams.”


Leave a Reply

