Creative Copy Challenge #642

This is a writing prompt.
Take the 10 random words below and crush writer’s block and/or grow your creativity by creating a cohesive, creative short story!
Before you finish writing and enter your submission try highlight this week’s challenge words and click the bold button to make them stand out as this may help you determine if you forgot any words then copy and paste your writing in the comment section below.
If you’ve missed previous writing prompts, feel free to work on them and post what you’ve written in that challenge comment box.

Bolding the challenge words is not required sometimes clever CCC-er CAPITALIZE the challenge words in their piece, you can too.

  1. New Year
  2. Beginning
  3. Newness
  4. Resolution
  5. Start
  6. Renew
  7. Bless
  8. Notes
  9. Calendar
  10. Celebration

28 Comments on “Creative Copy Challenge #642”

  1. tanjamaltija says:

    A New Year; a New Beginning. I am sick to the back teeth of hearing these clichés and platitudes. If IU had my way, the calendar would be divided into fifty weeks of ten days each, with a Bless-Us-All celebration at the end of each month. Yes, I know that this newness would throw seasons out of kilter – but Global Warming is doing that, anyway. I did table this resolution at the start of last Sunday’s Orbit Committee Meeting, but most of the officials laughed me out of town, so to speak. However, I shall renew my efforts; I took mental notes of everyone’s reactions, and I will work on the individuals who didn’t join in the raucous, hysterical, hilarity.

  2. Laura says:

    After each year end, and BEGINNING another, we make NEW YEARS RESOLUTIONS! We feel with the NEWNESS of each year, we feel we can START to make NOTES of our thoughts and wishes and RENEW that old but wonderful resolution, to lose weight, BLESS our new year with luck by eating black eyed peas and turnip greens to start off the new CALENDAR year CELEBRATION!!!

    • KathleenMK says:

      Laura ~ A wonderful sentiment! Let us CELEBRATE the wonderful possibilities of the RESOLUTIONS that lay ahead. There is a NEWNESS with each dawn that kick-STARTS the NOTES many of us have made in the year(s) before. May your wordplay be BLESSed with more than just great START of many a good story, but I hope when you look back at the CALENDAR, at the end of this year, you will CELEBRATE the RENEWed spark of wordplay and you find yourself BEGINNING a new tradition… for meeting up on Tuesdays!

      Happy New Year and Write On,

      Kathleen

    • babswh says:

      Black eyes peas and turnip greens are good.

  3. KathleenMK says:

    “It’s a new year, there are so many people looking at the potential of new beginnings,” Sally said as she gazed at the throng of people on the street below.

    “I think the newness of it all, the hope, will be a good start for so many,” Mark offered.

    “Yes, if everyone could just get past this fear, I think the blessings will be theirs…”

    “And ours as well,” Mark’s tone was filled with notes of hope.

    He looked up and saw Sally gazing at the stars now.

    “What was your resolution last year?’

    “I don’t remember if I even had one Mark. Unless you count a resolution to not allow the fear-mongers to ruin this year’s celebration ‘if’ we made it through to today.”

    Sally’s somberness was something Mark has come to expect when the monster of melancholy coursed through her veins.

    “Shall we mark the calendar and write in our journals that the fear-mongers did not win, that we are still here? Shall we mark our calendars and place our reservations for our annual trek to this city, this building, and this room for next year!” he quested with enthusiasm.

    “About that…” Sally said turning toward her brother. “…the doctors are not sure I will be strong enough to hold myself up by then, let alone make it out of my own way.”

    Tears welled in both of their eyes as they realized this could be their last time honoring their decades old family tradition.

    “Will you come here … even when I am unable?” the words came in a near whisper as a lump grew quickly in Sally’s throat. Swallowing it took great effort but swallow it she did as she braved the broaching of the subject, they both avoided. “When I have joined our parents and gained a vantage point of watching you on high? Will you continue to come?”

    Mark couldn’t help but notice the sober pleading that had seeped into his sister’s voice.

    “Maybe,” he said after a long minute and a cleansing breath. “Maybe the doctors will be wrong, and they will find a treatment that will work. A treatment that will aid you in becoming stronger, not weaker.” He smiled with a renewed hope that filled the air, even if it was a pipe dream.

  4. Hank Rodgers says:

    Bless the beasts of new Beginning / perhaps Renew or Start fresh sinning / for Newness is no Resolution / New Year Notes betray confusion / mark on your Calendar of life / that life itself’s no Celebration.

  5. Laura Walizer says:

    She looked down at her notes and stifled a sigh. This was the last meeting on her calendar before the workday ended and then, finally, it would be the beginning of her holiday break. She thought she’d start with a stiff martini, the moment she got home. Yes, that would be just the thing to renew her spirit and get her in the proper mood. She wasn’t planning much in the way of a celebration. Christmas and the New Year were quiet times for her, but they still brought with them a heady sense of newness. She wondered if she ought to make a resolution, and what that resolution should be. Quit this damed job? Remember to say “God bless you” when people sneezed? Well, first she had to get through this meeting….

    • KathleenMK says:

      Welcome to the fold Laura!
      Ohhhh maybe her story will continue week to week! I can’t wait to see if you can string this gal’s story along the weeks.

      Happy New Year.

      Write On,

      Kathleen

  6. Laureen M says:

    The NEW YEAR was just BEGINNING, but I didn’t feel in the mood for CELEBRATION. The NEWNESS of the CALENDAR—an annual gift from a friend—kept it from lying flat against the wall. The glossy blank squares repelled the ink from my pen, refusing to allow me to make NOTES. If I couldn’t even manage to schedule things I knew I had to do how would I come up with a RESOLUTION for the START of the year! And I was rather irritated with this friend and didn’t know if I wanted to RENEW our relationship. I decided to BLESS the recycle bin with its first bit of matter to churn into some other useless product.

    • KathleenMK says:

      Hello Laureen and welcome to the fold here at CCC!
      It’s great to see you here.
      It is great to see your contribution. I can see the (possibly) rolled calendar and the slippery paper and all! I love this.

      Don’t forget to feel free to give feedback to the others who have played with the word list too.

      I look forward to seeing more from you.

      Write On,

      Kathleen

    • mistyfan says:

      Maybe she could use the calendar as a fly swatter?

  7. mistyfan says:

    Well, it’s almost midnight on NEW YEARS Eve. I usually just sleep it through and put up the new CALENDAR in the morning, but not tonight. This year I can’t sleep through it. So I’m sitting on the sofa with a cup of cocoa, hoping the cocoa will help me sleep. But now I’ve found I don’t have the heart to even sip the cocoa. I’m staring at the kitchen clock, feeling only gloom about the coming new year. More of the same shit the old one gave me, most likely.

    On my lap is the notepad full of all the stuff I’ve been writing during the last minutes of the old year. I couldn’t sleep because things just kept going around in my head and wouldn’t let up. So I just got up, pulled out my notebook to get it all out of my system and crashed down on the sofa with the cocoa I haven’t even touched yet.

    I glance at the clock again. Only about a minute to midnight. The old year gets wiped clean, the new one starts, things get RENEWED like a library book, and we’re BLESSED with a whole new one, all full of NEWNESS. Yeah, right, yada yada. It’d take more than that to wipe the old one I had. What an annuus horribilis, as they say. My business crashed, long, ghastly story, and I don’t want to go into details, thank you very much. Now I’m all but keeping my head above the waters.

    I’m not going to look at the clock tick the seconds away to midnight. I’m looking at what I’ve written as there’s nothing else to look at. When I was writing it all down, I wasn’t really looking at it, just scribbling down the stuff that was going around in my head. It’s not New Year RESOLUTIONS I can tell you. I think they’re just a waste of time. Show me somebody who stuck to their New Year resolution all the way through the year. Hahaha!

    But then I stop and actually read those NOTES I’ve written. My God! It’s a whole new idea on how to START a new business. And it can’t miss!

    I’m stunned. I can’t believe it! It really is a Happy New Year for me!

    Hey, the clock’s hit midnight!

    For the first time ever, I am having a New Year CELEBRATION. The New Year really is going to be a whole new BEGINNING for me. And I’m celebrating by leaping up, jumping and cheering, and toasting the New Year with my cup of cocoa!

    • KathleenMK says:

      Mistyfan!!
      Wow. I felt the dread and the repeating dread! Bravo.
      I love the line … “things get RENEWED like a library book…

      And how nice it is that sometimes things turn out better than one things it will. You’ve given hope with your story!

      Happy New Year and Write On!

      Kathleen

  8. babswh says:

    With the Celebration of the New Year often comes the Process of Resolutions. I don’t plan on making a Resolution. I plan to Start a goals system for the Calendar year Beginning with my goals for personal growth and development. I have Notes from several challenges I have completed over the past year and plan to Renew my goals after a challenging year. With Newness and insight, I will accomplish all I have set out to do. Bless this New Year.

  9. ericdbolton says:

    I am seven days into the New Year and the calendar on my cubical wall still shows December. I just am not motivated to change it. My resolution for this year is not to update it. What difference would it make? At the end of the day, it is just another “x” in a square. The x’s form a chain and the chain of x’s in all the calendars that have graced this beige eighties wall goes back nine years. Post-it notes with names and extensions of co-workers who are no longer here adorn this fossil of a fabric. I have not moved most of them because they give the area much needed color, but Emily’s has not moved because it is all I have left of her.

    There was a feeling of newness when she would drop off her breakdown at my desk the start of every week. My heart would jump in celebration when she would walk into the breakroom when I was there. I would pray that God would bless me with the confidence to let her know how I felt. He never did and my lack of self-esteem would renew every Tuesday.

    I could not bring myself to do it when she was here, but I sometimes call her old extension and Carlos answers. I have no idea who he is or what his role is in this trench of depression, but I can feel he is beginning to get annoyed with me. Honestly, I do not care. Carlos is just another Post-it.

    I wonder if Emily felt the same way about me.

    • KathleenMK says:

      Hello Eric!
      Welcome to the fold.
      I love the “… my lack of self-esteem would renew every Tuesday.”…. What a great description! And then the description of … trench of depression…

      I like this character. I can’t wait to see what you do with him in the next week’s challenge!

      Write On,

      Kathleen

  10. FuxxyBear says:

    The New Year dawns. It’s the beginning of another start accompanied by celebration. The old calendar is binned and a bright new one goes up on the wall. There is hope in the newness with the resolution I quickly conjure up and make notes of in my diary. An awesome time of the year to renew and replenish our minds. Bless you!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.